BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-24-2008, 10:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Model: 8300
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 4
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default How to use setGlobalAlpha value in popupscreen

Please Login to Remove!

Hello Everybody,

I want to create the semitransparent popup screen. I have read somewhere in API. Use setGlobalAlpha to set the Transparency.

How to use this API in application.

Any help will be appreciated.

if possible please explain with code snippet.

Thanks in advance.
Offline  
Old 09-24-2008, 11:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default Global Alpha - from API doc

public void setGlobalAlpha(int alpha)

Sets the current global alpha value for drawing operations. It ranges from 0 (fully transparent) to 255 (fully opaque).

Be sure to reset the global alpha value when appropriate since all subsequent operations are done using the value specified. Global alpha is stored on the stack so popContext will restore it to the previous value.

Note that alpha will be clamped to the range 0-255.

Parameters:
alpha - Alpha value to use, from 0 (fully transparent) to 255 (fully opaque).
Since:
JDE 3.7.0
Category:
Colour: Pertains to devices' ability to display colour. May only be applicable on colour devices.
Offline  
Old 09-24-2008, 11:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default

This is from the class Graphic. Your paint() method is passed the Graphic object, os this is where you would place your call to setGlobalAlpha().
Offline  
Old 09-26-2008, 07:20 AM   #4 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Model: 8300
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 4
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

How to remove the stored alpha value ?

protected void paintBackground(Graphics g) {
try {
XYRect myExtent = getExtent();
int color = g.getColor();
int alpha = g.getGlobalAlpha();
g.setGlobalAlpha(0xCC);
g.setColor(0x000000);
g.fillRoundRect(0, 0, myExtent.width, myExtent.height, 30, 30);
g.setColor(color);
g.setGlobalAlpha(alpha);
} catch (Exception e) {
System.out.println(e.toString());
}
}

I have created the transparent screen using the above code but when I am changing focus (i.e I am moving the focus from one to another field ) at that time the transparency looses.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.