BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-26-2005, 09:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: France
Model: 7290
Carrier: Orange
Posts: 17
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default HTTP and Orange

Please Login to Remove!

Hello,

the fight continu...

With the code below (which is not much different from the example), I have an error code "java.io.IOExcption: could not open tunnel".

At the beginning the message was ended by "- failed"

After reading through the forums, I added in TCP Options "Orange World", which is the name of my Operator. The message now is ended by "- max timeout".

Why do I need something else to work, my Orange Browser works? Is BES server needed?

Any suggestion?

Thanks Riete

Code:
   void getHTTPStreamConnection(String URL){
        //String URL = "http://www.javacourses.com/hello.txt";

        HttpConnection httpConnector = null;
        InputStream in = null;
        StringBuffer inBuffer = new StringBuffer();
        String response= "";
        int inChar;

    try {
        httpConnector = (HttpConnection)Connector.open(URL);

        httpConnector.setRequestMethod(HttpConnection.GET);

        in = httpConnector.openInputStream();

        while ((inChar = in.read()) != -1) {
            inBuffer.append((char)inChar);
            response = inBuffer.toString();
            in.close();
            httpConnector.close();
        }
        //Display
        myHTTP.setString("Request OK!");
        } 
        catch(IOException ioe){ // Display Error
            myHTTP.setString("HTTP Error: "+ ioe);
        }    
    }

Last edited by riete : 09-26-2005 at 09:29 AM.
Offline  
Old 09-26-2005, 10:01 AM   #2 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: France
Model: 7290
Carrier: Orange
Posts: 17
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default A step forward

To help those with the same kind of trouble, I found an article BlackBerry Internet - MSN/chat/web/telnet/TCPIP - No BES!

I problably have to ask my provider for his APN code.

Keep posted

Riete
Offline  




Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.