BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-26-2005, 10:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: France
Model: 7290
Carrier: Orange
Posts: 17
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default HTTP and Orange

Please Login to Remove!

Hello,

the fight continu...

With the code below (which is not much different from the example), I have an error code "java.io.IOExcption: could not open tunnel".

At the beginning the message was ended by "- failed"

After reading through the forums, I added in TCP Options "Orange World", which is the name of my Operator. The message now is ended by "- max timeout".

Why do I need something else to work, my Orange Browser works? Is BES server needed?

Any suggestion?

Thanks Riete

Code:
   void getHTTPStreamConnection(String URL){
        //String URL = "http://www.javacourses.com/hello.txt";

        HttpConnection httpConnector = null;
        InputStream in = null;
        StringBuffer inBuffer = new StringBuffer();
        String response= "";
        int inChar;

    try {
        httpConnector = (HttpConnection)Connector.open(URL);

        httpConnector.setRequestMethod(HttpConnection.GET);

        in = httpConnector.openInputStream();

        while ((inChar = in.read()) != -1) {
            inBuffer.append((char)inChar);
            response = inBuffer.toString();
            in.close();
            httpConnector.close();
        }
        //Display
        myHTTP.setString("Request OK!");
        } 
        catch(IOException ioe){ // Display Error
            myHTTP.setString("HTTP Error: "+ ioe);
        }    
    }

Last edited by riete : 09-26-2005 at 10:29 AM.
Offline  
Old 09-26-2005, 11:01 AM   #2 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: France
Model: 7290
Carrier: Orange
Posts: 17
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default A step forward

To help those with the same kind of trouble, I found an article BlackBerry Internet - MSN/chat/web/telnet/TCPIP - No BES!

I problably have to ask my provider for his APN code.

Keep posted

Riete
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.