BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-25-2008, 12:42 AM   #1 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
baran_khan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Model: 9500
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Airtel
Posts: 110
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Plazmic Naive Question

Please Login to Remove!

Hi,

I have this question, you might find it silly though. I was wondering if it is possible to create a theme in Plazmic theme builder and somehow use it in our blackberry development for our application.

I am not sure about it, as right my knowledge is that we create a theme in plazmic and install it on blackberry for the whole environment, not sure if that can be used at application level.

Please clarify this thing.
__________________
Smart People ask for Help!!!
Offline  
Old 11-25-2008, 12:58 AM   #2 (permalink)
Stuck In The '70's Mod
 
ndub33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: The 'burbs east of Seattle.
Model: 9810
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 7,599
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Actually, this is a very good question...
To the best of my knowledge there isn't any way to apply a Plazmic-built theme to just specific apps-however I will defer to anyone with lots of advanced expereince in theme building.
__________________
1st Step in Troubleshooting: Do you have a BlackBerry Data Plan?
2nd Step in Troubleshooting: Pull the Battery.
Offline  
Old 11-25-2008, 01:06 AM   #3 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
baran_khan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Model: 9500
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Airtel
Posts: 110
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ndub33 View Post
Actually, this is a very good question...
To the best of my knowledge there isn't any way to apply a Plazmic-built theme to just specific apps-however I will defer to anyone with lots of advanced expereince in theme building.
Hey, thanks for responding, I am actually working on creating a generic solution to this UI development, I think , we need such a solution that can let us concentrate on a generic solution, rather than getting involved in this costmetic stuff.

Any idea about how we can proceed, I am basically looking for suggestions and trying to get the best before I proceed with my own assumptions.
__________________
Smart People ask for Help!!!
Offline  
Old 11-25-2008, 04:07 AM   #4 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
bbtrapped's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Huntsville
Model: 8100
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 37
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Wirelessly posted (@ 88 mph)

You need to use composer that is included with the plazmic download. Create your UI in composer and export as PMB or pme or even svg for used in your application development.any questions on the composer side, feel free to PM me.as I'm working backwards from composer to application development.

Last edited by bbtrapped : 11-25-2008 at 04:10 AM.
Offline  
Old 11-25-2008, 06:15 AM   #5 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
baran_khan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Model: 9500
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Airtel
Posts: 110
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bbtrapped View Post
Wirelessly posted (@ 88 mph)

You need to use composer that is included with the plazmic download. Create your UI in composer and export as PMB or pme or even svg for used in your application development.any questions on the composer side, feel free to PM me.as I'm working backwards from composer to application development.
Well, I guess i ll really appreciate anything you can help me with, I am pretty much new to this Plazmic and now this Composer thing...u got something that can help me in starting off with the things?

Thanks
__________________
Smart People ask for Help!!!
Offline  
Old 11-25-2008, 06:50 AM   #6 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
bbtrapped's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Huntsville
Model: 8100
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 37
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Actually it all depends on what your trying to accomplish and how you want the UI to behave. A good starting point would be to open up some examples from composer. For instance the weather app. It takes a while to understand the components that make up the UI which is built in composer. Are you familar with PME or SVG?

Is this going to be an application that will be installed on the BB or a web-based application?

Last edited by bbtrapped : 11-25-2008 at 06:52 AM.
Offline  
Old 11-25-2008, 07:08 AM   #7 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
baran_khan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Model: 9500
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Airtel
Posts: 110
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bbtrapped View Post
Actually it all depends on what your trying to accomplish and how you want the UI to behave. A good starting point would be to open up some examples from composer. For instance the weather app. It takes a while to understand the components that make up the UI which is built in composer. Are you familar with PME or SVG?

Is this going to be an application that will be installed on the BB or a web-based application?
This will be an application to be installed on the device and I am looking for a generic solution that can provide custom UI for my application. Basically, part of my R&D.

And yes you are right, it is something,i really have to put quite a bit of time. Could you please tell me if this is relevant to what I am looking for?
__________________
Smart People ask for Help!!!
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.