BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-25-2009, 02:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Model: none
Carrier: sprint
Posts: 24
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Please Login to Remove!

Wirelessly posted

Is it possible to setup my webscripts (PHP or Perl) to detect a device's OS version (not module number), so that it can automatically decide which software version to serve using OTA?
Lionscribe
Offline  
Old 02-25-2009, 02:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Model: 9000
OS: 4.6.0.247
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 209
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

If their Browser Identification is set as Blackberry then the user agent string is usually formatted like this:

BlackBerry8900/4.6.1.114 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/100
BlackBerry9000/4.6.0.234 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/107
BlackBerry9530/4.7.0.103 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/105

but they could have their Browser Identification set to Firefox or Internet Explorer and then it will not contain any Blackberry specific info.

For the Blackberry user agents above, I use this in PHP:

if (preg_match('/BlackBerry[^\/]*\/(.+) Profile/i', $agent, $matches))
and then for the above user agents
$matches[1] = 4.6.1.114
$matches[1] = 4.6.0.234
$matches[1] = 4.7.0.103
Offline  
Old 02-25-2009, 03:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Model: none
Carrier: sprint
Posts: 24
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Wirelessly posted

Thanks! Will try.
Offline  




Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.