BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-26-2009, 03:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Model: 8820
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 72
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default can not display String or array values

Please Login to Remove!

I am debugging on an actual device.
When I try to display the value of a String, I get

com.sun.jdi.ObjectCollectedException occurred retrieving type

I read the post BlackBerry Support Community Forums - Re: Help: Debugging on device using Eclipse - Java Development - BlackBerry Support Community Forums where Mr Sohm says to use System.out.println or to download a simulator.

I need more info on both of these options.
Where do I use println? in the code or can it be used in the debugger some how? Where will the output go?
I have a simulator for my device. How does that help me display values from the device?
Offline  
Old 02-26-2009, 08:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default

System.out.println() will show up in the debugger "Output" window when you are attached to the device.
Offline  
Old 02-27-2009, 11:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Model: 8820
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 72
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default I found it

Dougsg38p - thank you for the reply. I just tried this.

It goes to the Output tab in JDWP.

This works when I put the println() calls in the compiled code.
Is there any way to do it from the debugger (Eclipse?).

Its hard for me to believe that one can not display a String value in the debugger when debugging on a BlackBerry device.

Thanks,
Paul
Offline  




Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.