BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-20-2009, 01:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
baskaraninfo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bangalore
Model: 9350
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Telstra
Posts: 29
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Need clarification on BlackBerry Code Signing Keys usage?

Please Login to Remove!

Shall we use the same key for multiple applications developed by us? Or does we need to get key for each application that we are going to deploy on BB devices?

Thanks
Offline  
Old 03-20-2009, 03:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
baskaraninfo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bangalore
Model: 9350
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Telstra
Posts: 29
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Need clarification on BlackBerry Code Signing Keys usage?

You can use it on multiple applications and deploy it on multiple of devices.

It is restricted to only one machine, i mean one signing key can be installed on one machine.

Refer:
BlackBerry Support Community Forums - Re: Need clarification on BlackBerry Code Signing Keys usage? - Java Development - BlackBerry Support Community Forums
Offline  
Old 03-20-2009, 08:29 AM   #3 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Model: LEZ10
OS: 10.0.10
Carrier: Rogers CA
Posts: 1,704
Post Thanks: 20
Thanked 77 Times in 68 Posts
Default

Keys may be uses to sign multiple applications for multiple devices. The keys once installed on one machine are easily ported to another.
Offline  
Old 03-22-2009, 11:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
baskaraninfo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bangalore
Model: 9350
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Telstra
Posts: 29
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Need clarification on BlackBerry Code Signing Keys usage?

Thanks hrbuckley

Quote:
The keys once installed on one machine are easily ported to another.
Can you little elaborate on the above quote? How can we able to port the key installed in one machine to another?
Offline  
Old 03-22-2009, 11:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Model: 9000
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 16
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

You just need to copy over sigtool.csk, sigtool.set and sigtool.db across to the bin directory of your JDE on the other host.
I personally use eclipse, so I copy these sigtool files into the relevant plugin directory eg:
\eclipse\plugins\net.rim.eide.componentpack4.6.0_4 .6.0.16\components\bin
Offline  
Old 03-24-2009, 03:11 AM   #6 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
baskaraninfo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bangalore
Model: 9350
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Telstra
Posts: 29
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks WonderfulRemote
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.