BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-24-2009, 05:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Model: 8310
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Vodaphone
Posts: 3
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Simulator Problems with VS2008 and MDS

Please Login to Remove!

Hi there,

I am trying to develop an MDS application using the VS2008 plugin and all seemed to be going well, following the DevCon Labs pdf, but when I try to run the simulator to check my efforts it fails at the "Check Device Dependencies" with the detail as :
[Check Device Dependencies] Unable to connect to the remote server

I have googled this, and I am running this as a member of the Administrator group on both the network and my local machine.

I am however behind a tight firewall and proxy and wondered whether this may have any effect.

To try and debug this further, I tried to load up a website from my local host and was prompted for a username, password and domain. Once I had entered these, it could see the local webpage.

Maybe its an authorisation thing?

Also, I go into the advanced menu's on the simulator and check the MDS settings. MDS is set to not activated, and when I try to activate it it fails! Is this the issue?

I have checked the server hostname and it is pointing to http:localhost:17801/mds which is the right port for the MDS development server, I just wonder whether there is an authentification issue between the simulator and my machine?

Can anybody advise me?

Many thanks

Andy
Offline  
Old 03-24-2009, 12:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Model: 8310
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Vodaphone
Posts: 3
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Am I missing something as It is saying I can't connect to remote server? Is this visual studio ( the remote server ) not talking to the MDS development server ( middle man ) part ??.

The error lod is as follows :

[Start Debug Session] Connecting to debug port...
[Start Debug Session] DONE!
[Start Debug Session] Wait for debug message listeners to start-up...
[Start Debug Session] DONE!
[Start Debug Session] Send debug handshake request
[Start Debug Session] Wait for handshake response...
[Start Debug Session] DONE!
[Check Device Dependencies] Unable to connect to the remote server

What is it successfully handshaking with?

Also, If I go to the simulator and goto Options -> Advanced Options -> MDS Activation.

If I select activate, it only gets as far as 5% security handshake and then goes back to not activated? Is this something to do with it.
Offline  
Old 05-18-2009, 05:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Model: 8320
PIN: N/A
Carrier: t-mobile
Posts: 1
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Any luck?

I'm just starting bb development and want to do the simple HelloWorld.

The simulator won't launch from VS2008. XP sp2, VS2008 team system for developer/db. 8320, 8330, 8700... I didn't go through the whole list. Figured three failures was enough.

I can bring the 8320 simulator up, in example. I can publish my .cod to the local test MDS server. I can then find it via the simulator and pull it and run it on the simulator. But that defeats the whole debugging, etc. that would be helpful.

Any kind of error log would be helpful but my debug output shows zip. I have no idea what it's doing. It looks like it starts a debug session, then ends. The webservice website at least starts up... but I don't know where to even get simple logging on what's happening.

Suggestions?
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.