BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-30-2009, 10:56 AM   #1 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Model: 8900
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 64
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Context Menu Order Changes?

Please Login to Remove!

Sorry if this topic seems a bit vague, but I don't know how else to title it.

I'm more of the end user than the developer in this issue, but I'm hoping you guys can help anyway.

I installed an app on my BB 8900 for work, called Notify. It's an IMAPS application for my work email.

My question is simple. Can I change the order of the context menus within a program?

I'm used to the default BB messaging, where when I hit the Blackberry button while reading a message, the first highlighted choice is to "Reply". In Notify, the first highlighted choice is to "Read Next Message". When I'm working quickly with my Blackberry, I don't want to have to stop and think about a different context menu. I just want my instincts to work as they always have. Read message, hit Blackberry button, push trackball in, start typing a reply. It's a pain in my a$$.

Does anyone here know how I can change this?

Thanks.
Offline  
Old 03-30-2009, 11:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Model: 9000
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 67
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

you can't do it yourself. the developer could have a little control over this, but it's a tricky business changing the menu location of your ApplicationMenuItem in a native app (as different devices/os builds can have different menu items) so most apps just have their injected menuitems at 0. as for catching a particular action and highlighting the menu for that action - i don't think this is possible (using injected menuitems in native apps).
Offline  
Old 03-30-2009, 08:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Model: LEZ10
OS: 10.0.10
Carrier: Rogers CA
Posts: 1,704
Post Thanks: 20
Thanked 77 Times in 68 Posts
Default

It sounds like this is a different app, not an add on to a native app. In that case you should send your comments to the application supplier, they may be motivated to change it.

<rant>
This is one of my pet peeves. Users get use to an interface provided by a platform be it Windows, Mac, Blackberry Windows Mobile or whatever. Like you they get used to interfacing with it according to that standard. Then a developer comes along and either through ignorance or an attempt to make a prettier interface throw a spanner in front of the user.

What was the biggest complaint agains XP over Win98? The UI changes. Again with Vista.
</rant>
Offline  
Old 03-31-2009, 04:28 AM   #4 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Model: 9000
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 67
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

aah sorry hrbuckley, i didn't read thoroughly enough.

and 10/10 for the rant, i get it from managers who want to abandon the simple but most usable solution that rim created in their ui widgets (that the customer knows well) and replace it with some awful custom field, causes some friction when i stand my ground.
Offline  
Old 03-31-2009, 08:56 AM   #5 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Model: LEZ10
OS: 10.0.10
Carrier: Rogers CA
Posts: 1,704
Post Thanks: 20
Thanked 77 Times in 68 Posts
Default

No problemo hippocamp. You are of course correct about ApplicationMenuItem placement, as I well know :|
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.