BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-23-2009, 04:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Model: 9000
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 2
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Newbie help with java version

Please Login to Remove!

I have installed Java 1.5 update 18 and the Blackberry JDE 4.5.
When I build a project I get an error that I think is down to the JDE trying to use java version 1.3. from the error message where it states "source 1.3". Is this a known problem? How can I get the JDE to use the correct version of java?

Here is the error message
Building GPSDemo
C:\Program Files\Research In Motion\BlackBerry JDE 4.6.0\bin\rapc.exe -quiet import=..\lib\net_rim_api.jar codename="..\..\..\..\Documents and Settings\Nigel\My Documents\Backberry\Workspaces\GPSDemo\GPSDemo" "..\..\..\..\Documents and Settings\Nigel\My Documents\Backberry\Workspaces\GPSDemo\GPSDemo.rap c" warnkey=0x52424200;0x52525400;0x52435200 "C:\Documents and Settings\Nigel\My Documents\Backberry\Workspaces\GPSDemo\GPSDemo.jav a" "C:\Documents and Settings\Nigel\My Documents\Backberry\Workspaces\GPSDemo\img\gpsdemo _jde.png" "C:\Documents and Settings\Nigel\My Documents\Backberry\Workspaces\GPSDemo\PointScreen .java"
I/O Error: CreateProcess: javac -source 1.3 -target 1.1 -g -O -d C:\DOCUME~1\Nigel\LOCALS~1\Temp\rapc_4c74fd51.dir -bootclasspath ..\lib\net_rim_api.jar -classpath ..\lib\net_rim_api.jar "C:\Documents and Settings\Nigel\My Documents\Backberry\Workspaces\GPSDemo\GPSDemo.jav a" "C:\Documents and Settings\Nigel\My Documents\Backberry\Workspaces\GPSDemo\PointScreen .java" error=2
Error while building project
Offline  
Old 04-23-2009, 04:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Germany, BW
Model: -
PIN: N/A
Carrier: -
Posts: 310
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Have you installed the JDK or JRE? You need the JDK as the java compiler javac is not part of JRE.

Also check if the paths to java folder are set
__________________
Blessed is the end user who expects nothing, for he/she will not be disappointed. (Franklin's Rule)
Offline  
Old 04-23-2009, 05:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Model: 9000
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 2
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have downloaded and installed the JDK 6.

Im now getting a different error on build
Building GPSDemo
C:\Program Files\Research In Motion\BlackBerry JDE 4.6.0\bin\rapc.exe -quiet import=..\lib\net_rim_api.jar codename=..\samples\com\rim\samples\device\gpsdemo \GPSDemo ..\samples\com\rim\samples\device\gpsdemo\GPSDemo. rapc warnkey=0x52424200;0x52525400;0x52435200 "C:\Program Files\Research In Motion\BlackBerry JDE 4.6.0\samples\com\rim\samples\device\gpsdemo\GPSDe mo.java" "C:\Program Files\Research In Motion\BlackBerry JDE 4.6.0\samples\com\rim\samples\device\gpsdemo\img\g psdemo_jde.png" "C:\Program Files\Research In Motion\BlackBerry JDE 4.6.0\samples\com\rim\samples\device\gpsdemo\Point Screen.java"
I/O Error: Cannot run program "javac": CreateProcess error=2, The system cannot find the file specified
Error while building project



I/O Error: Cannot run program "javac":

Is there an option in preferences somewhere to set the location or something else I have missed.

Thank you
Nigel
Offline  
Old 04-23-2009, 07:16 AM   #4 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Germany, BW
Model: -
PIN: N/A
Carrier: -
Posts: 310
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Support - I/O Error: CreateProcess
__________________
Blessed is the end user who expects nothing, for he/she will not be disappointed. (Franklin's Rule)
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Tektronix TM503 3-Slot Modular Plug-In Mainframe
$45.0
Tektronix TM503 3-Slot Modular Plug-In Mainframe pictureZEPHYRUS MODEL 304 MAINFRAME RACK-MOUNT ~ WORKING PULL
$49.99
ZEPHYRUS MODEL 304 MAINFRAME RACK-MOUNT ~ WORKING PULL pictureAcromag Hawkeye 1800 Modular Plug in Chassis Mainframe
$50.0
Acromag Hawkeye 1800 Modular Plug in Chassis Mainframe pictureHP AGILENT 70001A MAINFRAME W/ 70841B PATTERN GENERATOR & 70842B ERROR DETECTOR
$650.0
HP AGILENT 70001A MAINFRAME W/ 70841B PATTERN GENERATOR & 70842B ERROR DETECTOR pictureANDO AQ7410 High Resolution Reflectometer Controller Mainframe only
$1450.0
ANDO AQ7410 High Resolution Reflectometer Controller Mainframe only picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.