BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-03-2009, 07:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Model: 8300
PIN: N/A
Carrier: att
Posts: 5
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Help-newbie -creating app for Blackberry

Please Login to Remove!

I want to create a simple application for the blackberry and having trouble.

Downloaded pluging for Microsoft dev studio, compiled a program.

Problem: How do I download this as an app on the Blackberrry??? (using 8300 for test unit)

Very confused!!

thanks, brc
Offline  
Old 05-03-2009, 11:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default

I'm no expert on BES/MDS, but here is what it says in the manual for the VS plugin:

<snip>
Use the publishing wizard within the BlackBerry Plug-in for Microsoft Visual Studio to deposit the application into the Blackberry MDS Application repository and publish the application to the BlackBerry MDS Services application registry. The BlackBerry MDS Application repository is installed with the BlackBerry MDS Services component of the BlackBerry® Enterprise Server. The BlackBerry Enterprise Server administrator must provide publishing credentials.
</snip>

I'm guessing that you will have to have your BES administrator publish the application as described above.
Offline  
Old 05-03-2009, 11:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Model: 8300
PIN: N/A
Carrier: att
Posts: 5
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the info...All i am trying to do is make a simple app, not trying to do any connectivity. Lets say, the app is just add 2 numbers. I can make a small app like this, simulate it, but how do i get it on the blackberry? If i go to connect to device, it then says"the devic is not ready"? I am using a blackberry 8300, it is connected looking at the blackberry manager, but the MS Vis studio with plugin seems to think its not? confused.
Offline  
Old 05-03-2009, 06:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default

AFAIK, you cannot deploy an MDS application directly to the device - it must be deployed via the Blackberry Enterprise Server (BES).

Based on the "simple app" description that you give above. I suggest that you switch over the the Java development environment (JDE).

Last edited by Dougsg38p : 05-03-2009 at 06:25 PM.
Offline  
Old 05-03-2009, 07:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Model: 8300
PIN: N/A
Carrier: att
Posts: 5
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks Doug...i Thought this might be a problem...I thought there would be some short cut to go right to the device. I would much rather use the Microsoft tool.

For the JDE...which would you advise to use...the Eclipse tools or the blackberry jds tools?
Offline  
Old 05-03-2009, 07:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default

If you are not already an Eclipse user, then the JDE is much easier to set up and use.
Offline  
Old 05-03-2009, 09:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Model: 8300
PIN: N/A
Carrier: att
Posts: 5
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

well i got something working with Eclipse...but it has a few querks!
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright © 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM © and BlackBerry © are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.