BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-21-2009, 08:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Model: 8330
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 3
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Setting up local test environment

Please Login to Remove!

Hi,

I'm new to blackberry development and I'm currently trying to set up a local testing environment for java applications on blackberry. Here is what I did until now.

I'm using Eclipse with the blackberry simulator to test my applications and they work fine. My applications connection attempts are working correctly. I'm also using the application signing utility to sign my applications before putting them on BBs.I want to try my applications on actual BB models. I've got a 8703e and a 8330 for testing purposes. None of these phones have a data plan activated with any carrier.

I also created a VM that runs Windows Server 2003 with a IBM Lotus Domino server. I've obtained a trail version of BES 4.1 for IBM Lotus Domino. I'm connecting my phones through a USB Connection and succesfully activated them with my installed BES. They can now browse the internet using the blackberry browser.

A problem arises when my applications attempt connections. The connection attempt just times out after 2 minutes. The same thing happens when I try to use Google Maps Mobile.

What could be my problem?

Any suggestions concerning a local testing environment would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance for your help.
Offline  
Old 05-21-2009, 01:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default

You problem is "none of these phones have a data plan".
Offline  
Old 05-21-2009, 02:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Model: 8330
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 3
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I know it does not help, i could obviously make it work with a data plan and a carrier.

I'm looking for a solution where the BES I have locally acts as a carrier with the data plan when I'm connecting the blackberry with a USB Connection.

Is that possible?

Last edited by yann.boulanger : 05-21-2009 at 03:16 PM.
Offline  
Old 05-21-2009, 04:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default

How about using a WiFi connection?
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.