BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-01-2009, 07:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Software developer
Posts: 14
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Appear context menus when displaying the screen

Please Login to Remove!

Hi,
I developed a simple blackberry application by extending MainScreen. There I have added few RadioButtonFields to a RadioButtonGroup. When I display this screen by clicking the trackball, a context menu appears as "Change Option". But if I clicked Enter it won't appear. I don't need to display this menu when the screen is displayed. Could any one help me to resolve this? I'm using BlackBerry JDE 4.2.1.
Offline  
Old 06-01-2009, 10:01 AM   #2 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Model: 7103
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 259
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

if I understand your problem, you want 'Enter' to work just like 'trackwheel click' ? If so, you will want to define a class that extends screen and implement your own keyChar method to do something like


Code:
protected boolean keyChar(char character, int status, int time)
{
switch(character):
{
case 'Characters.ENTER': 
//makeMenu or makeContextMenu
break;
}
}
Offline  
Old 06-01-2009, 11:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Software developer
Posts: 14
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi bemshaswing,

Thanks for the reply. My problem was when I click a Button Field from trackball to display the screen having radiobuttons, "Change Option" menu also appear with the screen. However I managed to solve this problem by adding,

ButtonField.CONSUME_CLICK

property to the Style of the Button Field.

Thanks again for your answer

-Kelum-

Last edited by kelumkps : 06-02-2009 at 12:01 AM.
Offline  




Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.