BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-09-2009, 01:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
pfowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Model: 8310
PIN: N/A
Carrier: ATT
Posts: 39
Post Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Getting reports of sluggish devices after installing our software

Please Login to Remove!

We have a piece of enterprise software that we are getting sporadic reports of "Device Slowdowns" or "Sluggish Response". We tracked down and fixed some edge cases that could cause slowdowns in the mail application, however the reports we are getting are of a device wide slowdown.

I'm trying to figure out some options for profiling my software or viewing a process manager during standard use of the device. Ideally, this testing would be done on a physical device and not the simulator.

We have developed the app in Java within Eclipse.

We haven't tracked down any reliable pattern in the reports but:
- We got more reports from 83xx devices once upgraded to 4.5
- A number of the first reports were from bold devices

Any help would be much appreciated!
Offline  
Old 06-09-2009, 08:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default

I don't know of any way to profile on the device.

I would suggest using the BB profiler tool in conjunction with the simulator.
Offline  
Old 06-09-2009, 08:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
pfowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Model: 8310
PIN: N/A
Carrier: ATT
Posts: 39
Post Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Can anyone point me towards some good documentation of the profiler? Searching for "BB Profiler" turn up tools for controlling ringtones at different times of day, while limiting the scope to this forum returns only a small handful of results.

I've never used the profiler - is it only available through the RIM JDE tools or is it possible to use with Eclipse + Simulator? My first attempts at getting my project from Eclipse into the RIM JDE haven't gone too well. It would be ideal if I could avoid that step in the process.

Last edited by pfowler : 06-09-2009 at 10:30 PM.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.