BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-30-2004, 09:46 PM   #21 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: in a house...
Model: lots
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 1,148
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Please Login to Remove!

Well then you and I have lots to learn then eh.
Offline  
Old 12-30-2004, 09:53 PM   #22 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
AuEngineer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lanett, AL
Model: 8100
Carrier: TMOBILE
Posts: 38
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

it appears so.

Isn't there a SDK. I think I read somewhere that it is not free.
Offline  
Old 12-31-2004, 10:49 AM   #23 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Metro NYC
Posts: 175
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

RIM has what they call their JDE (Java Development Environment). It is available at no charge from :

http://www.blackberry.com/developers...ls/index.shtml

You will also need Sun's Java 2 SDK v1.4.
__________________
-- Aric Rosenbaum
BlackBerry consulting, BlackBerry development
www.arconsultinginc.com
BlackBerry consulting and development (RIM SI Partner)
Offline  
Old 01-01-2005, 02:55 AM   #24 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: in a house...
Model: lots
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 1,148
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

AR... I've made it that far, hopefully AuEng has as well... I have actually developed a few small hello world type things to play with the screen manager and menus so far... I am working on a simple mds push app right now...

Here's a quick question though can you make a bitmapfield selectable so as to use it as an icon to push another screen up when the user focus's on it and clicks the track wheel? Any example source code out there that you know of?

cd.
Offline  
Old 01-01-2005, 11:08 AM   #25 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
CaptNblackberry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 74
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AuEngineer
sounds like a plan. I'b be willing to work on a project or two.
I checked out your link and I see under apps VNC - have you used it? I tried the VNC client from opensource but it just wouldnt work on my BB. The screen was all weird. Any info on the VNC you have before I download it and find out that it is the same one I tried previously.
Offline  
Old 01-02-2005, 02:29 AM   #26 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
AuEngineer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lanett, AL
Model: 8100
Carrier: TMOBILE
Posts: 38
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNblackberry
I checked out your link and I see under apps VNC - have you used it? I tried the VNC client from opensource but it just wouldnt work on my BB. The screen was all weird. Any info on the VNC you have before I download it and find out that it is the same one I tried previously.
It's the same and I haven't tried it yet. My workstations are behind multiple firewalls and I haven't made time to open up all of the necessary ports.
Offline  
Old 01-02-2005, 09:42 AM   #27 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
CaptNblackberry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 74
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AuEngineer
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNblackberry
I checked out your link and I see under apps VNC - have you used it? I tried the VNC client from opensource but it just wouldnt work on my BB. The screen was all weird. Any info on the VNC you have before I download it and find out that it is the same one I tried previously.
It's the same and I haven't tried it yet. My workstations are behind multiple firewalls and I haven't made time to open up all of the necessary ports.
Don't waste the time. It connects to a computer by VNC, but you cant do anything - there is no way to move around the screen on the computer. I think it was just made to show that you could VNC into a computer from the BB. But other than that it is useless. Just my 2 cents....

Thanks for the reply.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.