BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-23-2009, 03:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Model: 8300
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 43
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Cool HelloWorld sample don't run? :(

Please Login to Remove!

Hey all,

I'm new to BB development. I installed JDE and loaded all the examples that same with it. I set my active project to just the helloworlddemo project.

I then slected "build all and run". It built it fine... but before it could finish loading everything, it gave me this error :

Code:
Uncaught exception thrown - ControlledAccessException
Within my "locals" I see this :

Code:
Exception thrown:	@11A3C000net.rim.device.api.system.ControlledAccessException
super	@11A3C000	java.lang.SecurityException
My stack says this :

Code:
RenderingConverterDescriptor.register(  )   Line 75
BrowserContentProviderRegistryImpl.register( BrowserContentProvider )     Line 25
BrowserLoader.main( String[] )     Line 37
I try and find what line of code is failing but it says :

Code:
source code is not available
How do i debug this? In fact, I can't get any samples or tutorials on the web to work. They always give the same error.

Is there a problem with the code(I didn't modify it at all)? Did i not install somethign else I was supposed to install?

Thanks for any advice you can give,
Ryan
Offline  
Old 06-23-2009, 03:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Model: 8300
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 43
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok, figured out part of the problem. The Blackberry JDE's default simulator was for a 9500-JDE..... I wanted my app to work on a Blackberry curve so I downloaded the curve simulator (8330-4.3.0.124)

Using 9500 simulator the helloworld app works.
Using the 8330 simulator the helloworld app fails.

Does that mean that I need to program the hello world app differently than the sample supplied with the JDE for it to work on a 8330?

Thanks
Offline  
Old 06-23-2009, 10:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default

You cannot run code compiled under 4.7 on a phone running a lower version number.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.