BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-23-2009, 02:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Model: 8300
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 43
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Cool HelloWorld sample don't run? :(

Please Login to Remove!

Hey all,

I'm new to BB development. I installed JDE and loaded all the examples that same with it. I set my active project to just the helloworlddemo project.

I then slected "build all and run". It built it fine... but before it could finish loading everything, it gave me this error :

Code:
Uncaught exception thrown - ControlledAccessException
Within my "locals" I see this :

Code:
Exception thrown:	@11A3C000net.rim.device.api.system.ControlledAccessException
super	@11A3C000	java.lang.SecurityException
My stack says this :

Code:
RenderingConverterDescriptor.register(  )   Line 75
BrowserContentProviderRegistryImpl.register( BrowserContentProvider )     Line 25
BrowserLoader.main( String[] )     Line 37
I try and find what line of code is failing but it says :

Code:
source code is not available
How do i debug this? In fact, I can't get any samples or tutorials on the web to work. They always give the same error.

Is there a problem with the code(I didn't modify it at all)? Did i not install somethign else I was supposed to install?

Thanks for any advice you can give,
Ryan
Offline  
Old 06-23-2009, 02:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Model: 8300
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 43
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok, figured out part of the problem. The Blackberry JDE's default simulator was for a 9500-JDE..... I wanted my app to work on a Blackberry curve so I downloaded the curve simulator (8330-4.3.0.124)

Using 9500 simulator the helloworld app works.
Using the 8330 simulator the helloworld app fails.

Does that mean that I need to program the hello world app differently than the sample supplied with the JDE for it to work on a 8330?

Thanks
Offline  
Old 06-23-2009, 09:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default

You cannot run code compiled under 4.7 on a phone running a lower version number.
Offline  




Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.