BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-10-2009, 08:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: vodafone
Posts: 6
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Unable to call external URL from blackberry application

Please Login to Remove!

Hi thanks in advance

i am new to the blackberry development. I was trying to connect the external URL

EX: XXX/action.do?pin=123456

and trying insert the data into DB. Its working fine with Simulator. Once the application is deployed in the in the device i am getting the following error

Error: java.io.IOException:Tunnel Failed

thanks and regards
puneeth
Offline  
Old 07-10-2009, 08:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default

In order to accomplish this, you need to understand what network you are on, what services are available to you, etc.

There are URL connection parameters that must be specified to make a connection.

See this article:

Livelink - Redirection
Offline  
Old 07-11-2009, 08:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Anidamo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Miami, FL
Model: 9530
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 18
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Try adding deviceside=true when deploying and see if that will work. It really depends a lot on your carrier, there is unfortunately no one-size-fits-all way to get an HTTP connection working with every carrier since some use APNs and some don't.
Offline  
Old 07-13-2009, 04:06 AM   #4 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: vodafone
Posts: 6
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Dougsg38p and Anidamo .. i have gone thru the document and tried in the way Anidamo have specified ... it is gives the same error

URL: EX: XXX/action.do?pin=123456;deviceside=true

The carrier which i am using - Vodafone [India]
dont use APN's it uses edge [As discussed with the blackberry tech guys]


Can some one help in sorting this problem .....

Last edited by puneethkhanna : 07-13-2009 at 04:07 AM.
Offline  
Old 07-13-2009, 06:29 AM   #5 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: india
Model: 8700
PIN: 12345
Carrier: Airtel
Posts: 62
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

In your device check the APN settings in options--> Advaced Option --> TCP --> APN


and apply APN username and passowrd for vodafone..
Offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 02:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: vodafone
Posts: 6
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hi praveens .. the issue is resolved i have just appeded the following parameter to the end of my URL and request has been posted and data is saved on my DB.

URL: EX: XXX/action.do?pin=123456;ConnectionType=mds-public;deviceside=false

Thank for all the support provided.
Offline  
Old 07-20-2009, 02:17 AM   #7 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Model: 7100T
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Airtel
Posts: 6
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default How do I create a generic application to connect to internet irrespective of BIS or B

I have created a TCP-IP based app which is working fine on Simulator but when I put this app on the actual device even after putting the APN settings (APN:internet, UserName:BLANK, Pwd:BLANK) it is giving me tunnel failed exception. I'm using Idea Cellular(India) Blackberry plan BIS/BES. I tried with all sorts of gimmik but of no help like deviceside, APN, etc.

My actual question is how do I create a app like Google Maps or facebook, which connects to internet irrespective of the connection type. These applications don't need any APN settings and still they are able to make the connection. Is there any different set of api's not exposed by blackberry for 3rd party development which connects without specifying any settings?

How do I programatically retrieve at run-time what sort of protocol I should use to connect and how do I retrieve the respective settings?

Thanks & Regards,
AKS
Offline  
Old 07-20-2009, 02:22 AM   #8 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: india
Model: 8700
PIN: 12345
Carrier: Airtel
Posts: 62
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

try by giving APN details in u r mobile

APN www.idea.pl username idea password idea
Offline  
Old 07-20-2009, 10:37 AM   #9 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default

These APN's are specific to the carrier.

Apps like Googls Maps and FaceBook use CoverageInfo class to determine what type of connection, then set the connection parameters in the URL based on the carrier and connection type.

They also use BIS-B where it is available which is a carrier-agnostic service provided by RIM for RIM apps and approved 3rd party apps.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.