BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-10-2009, 02:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Model: 8830
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 5
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default debug error: <app name> attempts to access a secure API.

Please Login to Remove!

This chain of events only happens when I debug on the device. I am running the JDE ver. 4.5. I have signed the .cod files using the signature tool in the JDE. So here's what happens. In the JDE I select from the menu Debug -> Attach to -> Handheld USB (99999xx). The JDE returns with:
Cannot find file: net_rim_app_manager.debug

I searched and found one but the JDE returned with a message dialog: bad debug information

So I continued the process.
There are two other choices: "Cancel" and "Don't ask this again"
I chose "Don't ask this again"

An error dialog appears that says:
No debug information found for module 'net_rim_cldc'. Many debugging features will not work properly.

I clicked the ok button and another popup is shown which states:
No debug information found for module 'net_rim_os'. Many debugging features will not work properly

I started the application I need to test and the same two dialog messages are shown.

After I close the dialogs, the debugger outputs the following:

CMM: MyTipCalc(819) no sig from 0x545252
module 819 cannot reference net.rim.device.api.system.Display
Module 'MyTipCalc' attempts to access a secure API.
Linker error: 'VerifyError' for MyTipCalc
CMM: set CRCNVS: delete 2

Any ideas?

Harry
Offline  
Old 07-10-2009, 03:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default

The "missing" and "no debug" can be safely ignored.

The "no sig from 0x54252" says that your app is not signed properly.

One tip - the project must be signed each time it is compiled (I mention this because others have not realized this fact).

Open the signature tool in the JDE and make sure that all of the modules have the Green "Signed" message next to them.
Offline  
Old 07-11-2009, 01:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Model: 8830
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 5
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks Doug,

I made sure all of the files for this project were signed using the signature tool. Do you know of anyone from RIM who I can contact. I've had issues that seemed minor with Blackberry development, but these minor issues keep slowing me down.
Offline  
Old 07-11-2009, 05:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default

You can try the Blackberry development forum here (run by RIM):

BlackBerry Support Community Forums - BlackBerry Support Community Forums

This is not official support, but it is monitored by RIM folks.

Also, I seem to recall there is a bug in 4.5 where a module, not actually needing the RRT signature, complains after loading on the device that it is not signed. AS I recall, there is a way to force the RRT signature to be applied (even though the module does not need it).

One thing you might try is to actually reference one of the secure API's within the offending module to force the RRT signature to be applied.
Offline  
Old 07-11-2009, 05:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default

It doesn't look like your issue is the same as this 4.5 issue I mentioned above, since you ARE accessing a secure API already.

The only other thing that comes to mind is the JAD file issue - did you load the program OTA? On some networks, the OTA load will only load the "size" parameter found in the JAD file. Unfortunately, the signature tool does not always update the size info, so the signature info is actually left off of the download.

I suggest you re-post this issue in the RIM forum.
Offline  
Old 07-12-2009, 06:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Model: 8830
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 5
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I just might do that.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.