BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-15-2009, 03:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Model: 7100G
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Airtel
Posts: 9
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Socket without data plan

Please Login to Remove!

Hi,
I would like to use jde 4.2 in 8700g.

Is it possible to open a socket and send/receive data WITHOUT a data plan?

Thanks

Ganesh Kumar
Offline  
Old 07-15-2009, 10:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Model: LEZ10
OS: 10.0.10
Carrier: Rogers CA
Posts: 1,704
Post Thanks: 20
Thanked 77 Times in 68 Posts
Default

Without any data plan? No

With a generic data plan? Yes

With a Blackberry data plan? Yes
__________________
My other Blackberry is a PlayBook.
Offline  
Old 07-16-2009, 03:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Model: 7100G
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Airtel
Posts: 9
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Socket without data plan

Thank you very much for your reply. It is clear now. Just to cross-check, I need to have some data plan, not necessarily blackberry data plan. Am I right ?

The idea is that my SIM already has a general data plan and I do not want to incur additional expenditure by way of blackberry data plan.

Ganesh Kumar.
Offline  
Old 07-16-2009, 11:30 AM   #4 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Model: LEZ10
OS: 10.0.10
Carrier: Rogers CA
Posts: 1,704
Post Thanks: 20
Thanked 77 Times in 68 Posts
Default

Blackberry will open a direct TCP socket using a properly configured APN. Support for what ports you may or may not be able to connect to are wireless provider dependent.
__________________
My other Blackberry is a PlayBook.
Offline  




Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.