BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-15-2009, 10:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Model: 8900
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Don't know
Posts: 11
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Obstacles in usage of MapField

Please Login to Remove!

I tried to use the MapField on a MainScreen, but I only get an olive green patch and nothing else on the simulator screen. I set the latitude and longitude to those of various locations (most notably, latitude and longitude of Ottawa and New York) using the provided functions, but to no avail. I am using JDE 4.6.1, so support for MapField should not be an issue.

Could anybody tell me why this is happening?

Also, I did not understand how I can set a landmark to a particular latitude and longitude. Any pointers in that direction?
Offline  
Old 07-15-2009, 10:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default

Make sure you have MDS running - the map requires a data connection to the RIM location servers in order to download the map tiles.
Offline  
Old 07-15-2009, 11:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Model: 8900
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Don't know
Posts: 11
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dougsg38p View Post
Make sure you have MDS running - the map requires a data connection to the RIM location servers in order to download the map tiles.
The MDS was running the whole time. My application also invoked the browser, and I was able to access the internet without any hitch. So that wasn't the problem.
Offline  
Old 07-15-2009, 01:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default

Did you try the Blackberry Maps program also?
Offline  
Old 07-15-2009, 11:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Model: 8900
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Don't know
Posts: 11
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dougsg38p View Post
Did you try the Blackberry Maps program also?
I have tried the blackberry Maps as well, and it shows similar results. Well, Maps is a little better, it shows black diagonal lines on top of the olive green screen.

But I really want to make the MapField work. Please help me out.
Offline  
Old 07-16-2009, 10:12 AM   #6 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default

You have to get the maps app working first.
Offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 07:40 AM   #7 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Model: 8900
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Don't know
Posts: 11
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dougsg38p View Post
You have to get the maps app working first.
When I try to use the maps app in the simulator, it opens in the manner I have already mentioned in earlier posts. Also, when I try to search for a location, the MDS does not show any activity. The last message in the MDS is

<2009-07-17 18:04:31.840 IST>:[72]:<MDS-CS_MDS>:<DEBUG>:<LAYER = SCM, EVENT = St
atistics save task finished -- number of rows inserted:5>

A third doubt as well. Sometimes, the maps application throws a network error.

Are all these problems related? And how do I overcome them?
Offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 07:44 AM   #8 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default

They must be related. Maps will not work unless it can connect to the RIM map server.
Offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 11:47 AM   #9 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Model: 8900
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Don't know
Posts: 11
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

So any tips on how I can solve this problem?
Offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 01:53 PM   #10 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default

Did you turn on "GPS Simulation" on the simulator?
Offline  
Old 07-20-2009, 11:27 PM   #11 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Model: 8900
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Don't know
Posts: 11
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yes, I had turned on the GPS simulation. That's not the problem here.

After a lot of searching, I read somewhere that the Maps application will only work in the countries listed by RIM on their site.

So, apparently, I cant run the Maps application for say Malaysia (which is listed) from here in India (which is, sadly, not listed).

Can you please confirm this?
Offline  
Old 07-21-2009, 06:38 AM   #12 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Model: 8900
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Don't know
Posts: 11
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I need to give a definite answer by 6p.m. IST (12:30 p.m. GMT) today. Please help!
Offline  
Old 09-23-2009, 04:20 AM   #13 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Model: 8300
PIN: N/A
Carrier: 1
Posts: 2
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default net.rim.device.apps.internal.lbs.render.RenderThre ad

I have a screen that uses a MapField. I display it several times and quit from it. And finally i have bunch of RenderingThreads hanging and waiting for notify if i see threads info in debug.
I haven't found anything in MapField relying on disposing it and so on.
Any suggestions?
Thanks.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.