BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-22-2009, 03:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
Join Date: Jul 2009
Model: 8800
Carrier: at&t
Posts: 7
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Is there a way to change button captions in the Dialog

Please Login to Remove!

If you have "Yes" and "No" buttons in the Dialogbox, is there a way to change the button captions to something else, for example, "Yes" and "No" to "Proceed" and "QUit? Or, do I need a class other than Dialog? Thank you in advance.
Old 07-22-2009, 04:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts

See the API docs for Dialog - instead of taking one of the "prebuilt" static options, you construct one that has your choices.

Like this one:

public Dialog(String message,
Object[] choices,
int[] values,
int defaultChoice,
Bitmap bitmap)Constructs a new Dialog instance.
message - Message to display in the dialog.
choices - Objects selectable by the user. Each object is displayed using Object.toString().
values - If this parameter is specified, instead of returning the index selected, doModal() returns the value associated with this index (useful for adding CANCEL).
defaultChoice - Initial choice selected when the Dialog is displayed. If you provide a non-null values parameter, the default choice must be present in the values array. If the values parameter is null, the default choice is the index of the initially selected item.
bitmap - Image to display in the left side of the dialog.
Closed Thread

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Copyright 2004-2014
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.