BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-31-2009, 03:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Model: 9000
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Cosmote
Posts: 2
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Application reinstallation

Please Login to Remove!

Hello,

I have a problem with reinstalling an application on a BlackBerry device.
After I reinstall I am being asked to reboot the device, but if I choose no I can still start the application. The problem is that the old application starts and I don't want that.

I there any way to check in java if the application was reinstalled and a reboot is required (maybe a system property or something), I want to show a message that the application will not work until reboot when the user tries to start the application.

Thanks,
Adrian
Offline  
Old 07-31-2009, 07:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
BlackBerry Master
 
dankarlinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Model: 1
Carrier: 1
Posts: 3,391
Post Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Wirelessly posted (White and Nerdy)

The app will not work until you restart it because of the fact that the system is using the files. Its just like windows update. End of story
Offline  
Old 07-31-2009, 07:20 AM   #3 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Model: 9000
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Cosmote
Posts: 2
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the answer dankarlinski.
Offline  
Old 07-31-2009, 07:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
BlackBerry Master
 
dankarlinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Model: 1
Carrier: 1
Posts: 3,391
Post Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Wirelessly posted (White and Nerdy)

Hope this answered your question.

You asked about adding text about having it not work until a restart. I don't believe it is possible as that function is built into RIM's GUI
Offline  
Old 07-31-2009, 07:45 AM   #5 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
andreybutov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New York City
Model: Many
Carrier: Multiple
Posts: 21
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dankarlinski View Post
Wirelessly posted (White and Nerdy)

The app will not work until you restart it because of the fact that the system is using the files. Its just like windows update. End of story

I don't think that's what Adrian was asking about.

I actually think his question was more subtle, and a good one at that.

A user has downloaded a new binary, OTA, which replaced the existing running copy of your app INLINE. Since the app is running memory resident, the OS tells the user that a restart is required in order to properly install the new version - which is correct.

The user chooses not to, for whatever reason, but at this point you don't want the OLD version of your app to keep running -- indeed, there may have been a reason for the update (perhaps a server communication component has changed, and the client needs to match), and you need the restart so that the new version runs.

Adrian's question is a good one -- how do you, in the above circumstance, programatically determine if the device is in a "Reboot Pending/Required" state, even if the reboot doesn't happen for hours or days, his "old version" of the app needs to know that a new version is pending full installation.

Unfortunately, I'm not sure how to address this. I'll take a look into this right now, because the the question is solid, and a resolution would be quite useful for posterity.
__________________
Antair BlackBerry Software
A spam filter for a cleaner inbox, a call screener to block calls, and more great BlackBerry tools.
www.antair.com
Offline  
Old 07-31-2009, 07:58 AM   #6 (permalink)
BlackBerry Master
 
dankarlinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Model: 1
Carrier: 1
Posts: 3,391
Post Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Wirelessly posted (White and Nerdy)

I see. I must have understood it incorrectly.

Well, I know that if you use quick pull for example, and you deny the reboot now command, there is an entry in options>advanced>apps on the bottom. That tells you a restart is required.

As for the practical use of it, I would just restart it and do that. If it asks for a restart, it usually needs it to work
Offline  
Old 08-04-2009, 07:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Model: Storm
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 12
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I had the same issues even if we killed all running processes that dealt with system interactions aka sms listeners. We still need to reboot the phone.
__________________
iSpeech.org
DriveSafe.ly
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.