BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-12-2009, 09:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Model: 8300
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 43
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unhappy Application not starting fresh when loading?

Please Login to Remove!

Hey all,

I've made a simple application that when initially loaded, it goes out to the web and pulls down some data and displays it. This works 90% of the time on my blackberry. But every now and then when i run the app, it just shows the data it displayed the previous time the app was loaded (it for some reason didn't go out to the web to pull the latest data).

I won't post any code at this point.... I'm just curious if there is something obvious I am missing? (ie. the blackberry app caches the old data and uses it).

Thanks
Offline  
Old 08-12-2009, 09:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Boston, MA
Model: 9800
OS: 6.0.0.246
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 852
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I am not a developer, but just wanted to throw this out there...

How is the app being closed? Via menu, using escape key or are you pressing the red end key?

First two will close the app out. While the red key leaves the app running in the background.
__________________
-Chris
Domino 7.0.3/BES 4.1.6 on w2k3 sp2
Offline  
Old 08-12-2009, 09:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Model: 8300
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 43
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hmm, thanks for the info. My guess is you are right and the app is still running in the background.

Is there a way I can prevent the app from being exited the improper way? (ie. I don't want the app to continue to run in the background).

Thanks!
Offline  
Old 08-14-2009, 03:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
pfowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Model: 8310
PIN: N/A
Carrier: ATT
Posts: 39
Post Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I've found that occasionally exiting my app using the escape key, and then relaunching immediately will preserve the state in the same way that hitting the end key does.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.