BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-25-2009, 08:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Model: 9530
PIN: N/A
Carrier: o2
Posts: 35
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default TextBox

Please Login to Remove!

Hi, sorry about a very stupid question but can only find a textfield class in rim api and i want to have a textbox, i have tried to add the j2me textbox to my screen but am getting add errors, be it a screen or manager class i try to add to.

How would i get a textbox on screen, so the user can see the box, unlike a textfield?

Thanks in advance

Brendan
Offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 10:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default

There is no "off the shelf" API for creating a text box like this - you'll have to invent it.
Offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 12:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Model: 9530
PIN: N/A
Carrier: o2
Posts: 35
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Replace GaugeField with the Clock

I have a class which shows the gaugefield whilst loading but i don't think this is the best way to do it as i don't know the time it'll take to retrieve the data. How would i go about putting the clock on screen that blackberry uses?
Offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 12:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default

Again, you'll have to "invent" it. RIM does not provide a "wait cursor" class.
Offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 12:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Model: 9530
PIN: N/A
Carrier: o2
Posts: 35
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

sorry, that was meant for a new thread, I ve got so may windows open i'm lost!

What do you mean by invent one? I'm thinking extend text field and then over-ride the paint method to have a line at x, y - could it be done this way?

How would i access the image (if you like) that bb displays when they are loading something?

I really hope one day i'll be in a position to answer new bb programmers questions but right now i need to ask a few. Hope people don't mind.

Regards

Brendan
Offline  
Old 08-26-2009, 04:42 AM   #6 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Software developer
Posts: 14
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

As you said, you can extend TextField and draw a rectangle by overriding paint method. But this article provide another way to create textboxes having scrollable ability.

na.blackberry.com/eng/devjournals/resources/journals/jul_2005/creating_textbox_field.jsp
Offline  
Old 08-26-2009, 09:40 AM   #7 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Model: 9530
PIN: N/A
Carrier: o2
Posts: 35
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

cheers for the link.

It's just what i was looking for,

Regards

Brendan
Offline  




Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.