BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-25-2009, 08:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Model: 9530
PIN: N/A
Carrier: o2
Posts: 35
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default TextBox

Please Login to Remove!

Hi, sorry about a very stupid question but can only find a textfield class in rim api and i want to have a textbox, i have tried to add the j2me textbox to my screen but am getting add errors, be it a screen or manager class i try to add to.

How would i get a textbox on screen, so the user can see the box, unlike a textfield?

Thanks in advance

Brendan
Offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 10:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default

There is no "off the shelf" API for creating a text box like this - you'll have to invent it.
Offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 12:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Model: 9530
PIN: N/A
Carrier: o2
Posts: 35
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Replace GaugeField with the Clock

I have a class which shows the gaugefield whilst loading but i don't think this is the best way to do it as i don't know the time it'll take to retrieve the data. How would i go about putting the clock on screen that blackberry uses?
Offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 12:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default

Again, you'll have to "invent" it. RIM does not provide a "wait cursor" class.
Offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 12:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Model: 9530
PIN: N/A
Carrier: o2
Posts: 35
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

sorry, that was meant for a new thread, I ve got so may windows open i'm lost!

What do you mean by invent one? I'm thinking extend text field and then over-ride the paint method to have a line at x, y - could it be done this way?

How would i access the image (if you like) that bb displays when they are loading something?

I really hope one day i'll be in a position to answer new bb programmers questions but right now i need to ask a few. Hope people don't mind.

Regards

Brendan
Offline  
Old 08-26-2009, 04:42 AM   #6 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Software developer
Posts: 14
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

As you said, you can extend TextField and draw a rectangle by overriding paint method. But this article provide another way to create textboxes having scrollable ability.

na.blackberry.com/eng/devjournals/resources/journals/jul_2005/creating_textbox_field.jsp
Offline  
Old 08-26-2009, 09:40 AM   #7 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Model: 9530
PIN: N/A
Carrier: o2
Posts: 35
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

cheers for the link.

It's just what i was looking for,

Regards

Brendan
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.