BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-25-2009, 06:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Model: 7100T
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 39
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default HTTP Tunnel Failed error

Please Login to Remove!

I have 'Tunnel Failed' IO exception when I try to send HTTP request. Simulator is OK but I see it on 9530 device that does not have WiFi. Provider is T-Mobile.

If I append ";deviceside=false" to URL I have another exception 'Invalid URL param'.

I set T-Mobile APN according to recommendations found on this page BlackBerry Internet - MSN/chat/web/telnet/TCPIP - No BES! and I tried to append ";deviceside=true" to URL but I have 'Tunnel Faild' again.

I added code for checking WAP but WAP was not found.

How can I solve this problem?
Offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 08:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default

";deviceside=false" has no place here unless you are connecting via BES or BIS.

You need to include the T-Mobile APN or the WAP gateway parameters, along with the ";deviceside=true".

Here is an example for TMO US:

";deviceside=true;WapGatewayIP=216.155.165.50;WapG atewayPort=9201;WapGatewayAPN=wap.voicestream.com"

And TMO Germany:

";deviceside=true;WapGatewayIP=193.254.160.2;WapGa tewayPort=9201;WapGatewayAPN=wap.t-dl.de",
Offline  
Old 08-26-2009, 12:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Model: 7100T
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 39
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yes it works. Thank you.

I tried to do it programmaticaly but something was wrong, notihing was added to URL. I use this code for it:

StringBuffer URLString = new StringBuffer();
ServiceBook serviceBook = ServiceBook.getSB();
ServiceRecord[] records = serviceBook.findRecordsByCid( "WAP" );
for ( int i = 0; i < records.length; i++ )
{
if ( records[i].getName().equalsIgnoreCase( "WAPTransport" ) )
{
URLString.append( ";WAPGatewayIP=" );
String networkAddress = records[i].getNetworkAddress();
URLString.append( networkAddress.substring( 0, networkAddress.indexOf( ':' ) ) );
URLString.append( ";WAPGatewayAPN=" );
URLString.append( records[i].getAPN() );
url = URLString.toString();
}
}
Offline  
Old 08-26-2009, 01:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default

Did you try the WAP2 transport?

See this KB Article:

Livelink - Redirection
Offline  
Old 08-27-2009, 08:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Model: 7100T
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 39
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I know that acticle and I tried Wap2. It does not work but yours.
Offline  
Old 08-27-2009, 11:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default

WAP2 is highly dependent on the carrier, however. If you cannot locate the WAP2 transport in the service book, then you have to use another transport.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.