BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-03-2009, 08:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Model: 8820
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 72
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default How can I do a DNS Lookup in Java?

Please Login to Remove!

The BlackBerry API does not have java.net.InetAddress.getByName(). Yet the WiFi Diagnostics can do a DNS Lookup.

So how do I do the DNS Lookup from Java code?

Thanks,
Paul
Offline  
Old 11-07-2009, 05:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: vodafone
Posts: 33
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Even Im looking for same...Did u find the solution...? Please help.
Offline  
Old 11-07-2009, 02:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Model: 8820
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 72
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

What I discovered is that the DNS lookup is done internally. In Windows we typically take a domain name, do a lookup to get an IP and then open a socket to that IP. In the BB, just open a socket to the domain name and port. It will internally do the lookup and open the IP.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.