BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-03-2009, 07:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Model: 8820
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 72
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default How can I do a DNS Lookup in Java?

Please Login to Remove!

The BlackBerry API does not have java.net.InetAddress.getByName(). Yet the WiFi Diagnostics can do a DNS Lookup.

So how do I do the DNS Lookup from Java code?

Thanks,
Paul
Offline  
Old 11-07-2009, 05:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: vodafone
Posts: 33
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Even Im looking for same...Did u find the solution...? Please help.
Offline  
Old 11-07-2009, 02:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Model: 8820
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 72
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

What I discovered is that the DNS lookup is done internally. In Windows we typically take a domain name, do a lookup to get an IP and then open a socket to that IP. In the BB, just open a socket to the domain name and port. It will internally do the lookup and open the IP.
Offline  




Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.