BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-07-2009, 01:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: May 2008
Model: 8700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Telcel
Posts: 69
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default getstacktrace to send it over email

Please Login to Remove!

recently, my application has been dealing a los of problems with an error is appearing on one of my application methods.

I had identified which method is the one but the info i get from the error message is not quite enough to identify the problem.

Also, in all my debug session i still cant reproduce the problem to make this error occur, neither i can have the end user bring me his black berry when the error occurs for various reason i cant reveal (sorry, boss orders) but i'd like to know if there is any way to save the stacktrace info on a file, or send it over a email or something. Ya know how its stored on the log of the device, i'd like to know if its possible to get a hold of that info to send it via email or sms.

I'm pretty sure more details on the error are stored there.

Its getting pretty hard to identify this error, specially since this error is launched as a general Exception.
Offline  
Old 10-07-2009, 03:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default

Your customer can view the device log.

<alt> L G L G

When they find the exception, they can email the log entry. There is an menu item to "copy" the entry, then they can create an email and paste the entry into the body.
Offline  
Old 10-08-2009, 11:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: May 2008
Model: 8700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Telcel
Posts: 69
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks, but I already tried that and...... lets say the end user is not that abid to do this much. i'm quite amazed already they can manage to use my application to do the work its pretended for, i can't ask them to do this much.
Offline  
Old 10-08-2009, 12:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default

Then you are not going to get the stack trace. There is no way to retrieve it programmatically.

This is "by design", according to RIM.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.