BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-16-2009, 09:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Model: 8350i
PIN: N/A
Carrier: telus
Posts: 40
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Hour/minute field

Please Login to Remove!

I need the user to enter hours and minutes in my app. In the calendar app there is a field to enter hours and minutes which would be perfect but I'm not sure how its done. The label "Duration" is aligned left and aligned right is a two part field to enter the hours and minutes. It's perfect for my app if only I could figure out how to do it. Can anyone help?
Offline  
Old 11-17-2009, 02:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Model: 9000
Carrier: Airtel
Posts: 81
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Use this code.
Code:
DateField  dateField = new DateField("", 0, new SimpleDateFormat("h 'Hour' m 'Mins'"), DateField.TIME);
__________________
blog.vimviv.com
Offline  
Old 11-17-2009, 09:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Model: 8350i
PIN: N/A
Carrier: telus
Posts: 40
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Great thanks for the advice. Now what if I wanted to use the same format but for something other than hours and minutes. Can I change the ranges of numbers. Can I make it so the user can select 1 to 1024 in half the field and 1-8 in the other. This seems like a very useful field if I can customize the ranges.
Offline  
Old 11-17-2009, 11:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Model: 9000
Carrier: Airtel
Posts: 81
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I think its not possible because
Hours must be between 0 and 23, and Minutes must be between 00 and 59.
if you want something else, you have to create your own custom date field.
__________________
blog.vimviv.com
Offline  
Old 11-18-2009, 05:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Model: 8350i
PIN: N/A
Carrier: telus
Posts: 40
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I realize I will have to make a custom field but have never done it and was hoping for some basic code to get me started. Right now I use three seperate numeric fields for the user to enter three different ranges of numbers that all relate to each other (like a date). It would be great if I could do this with one custom field but I'm not sure where to start.
Offline  
Old 11-20-2009, 06:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Model: 8350i
PIN: N/A
Carrier: telus
Posts: 40
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I looked into custom fields a little more and learnt how to override methods like paint and layout. So I guess what I need is a list of the methods that the date field uses so I know what to override.
Offline  
Old 11-20-2009, 11:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default

I think you were on the right track in your 4:33 post.

Create your own custom field class subclassing Manager (which also implements field), and adding your three separate numeric input fields to it.

At least, that's the way I would proceed.
Offline  




Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.