BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-08-2009, 01:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Model: 7100T
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Bell
Posts: 2
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default About to start BB development but unsure about socket access available?

Please Login to Remove!

Hello, I am about to start development for a blackberry app and was just wondering, if socket access is available for most users out there? I ask this because I've done some research and some poeple are saying my app would be able to open a socket connection due to some network/firewall restrictions that is put on all blackberries in North America.

Is this true? Will I run into any problems developing this app? I'm no blackberry expert but came across things like BES/BIS which further complicates this. Do most consumer blackberries in North America uses BIS? And if so, does BIS restrict the network connectivity of my product?
Offline  
Old 12-08-2009, 01:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default

BIS is a public version of BES, which is hosted by RIM. BIS access is restricted to BB Alliance members.

Your choices are:
BES (if the phone is connected via BES)
BIS (if you are an alliance member)
WAP2
WAP1
Direct TCP
WiFi

Not all options are available on all phones. I suggest that you download the development environment and go through all of the samples and developer videos.

Some links:

Livelink - Redirection

BlackBerry - Java Application Development
Offline  
Old 12-08-2009, 01:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Model: 7100T
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Bell
Posts: 2
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thank you for your help!! I ran through a lot of documentation already, what it doesn't tell me is what majority of the users out there is using! For example in the US, if you buy a blackberry from verizon/att etc, what is the user using? Not BES that's for sure, but is it BIS? If it comes with a data plan, will they be able to install an app that makes direct tcp connections?
Offline  
Old 12-08-2009, 06:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default

Most consumer devices are using BIS for email, browser, etc.

You can use BIS if you are an alliance member, and your app is approved by BB.

If you are not an alliance member, then you ask the device what types of coverage are available (using CoverageInfo). You then select what works for you, and craft your connection parameters accordingly. This is all outlined in the link I sent you, and there is more info in the developer videos (the other link).

Good luck!
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.