BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-11-2010, 04:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Model: 8900
PIN: N/A
Carrier: telus
Posts: 35
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post Controlling Ring Volume of Ring Tone.

Please Login to Remove!

Hi,
I am trying to control the ring volume of the incoming call.
For that I tried more to get class or method, but I did not find any thing
Except, I get one process by using the “player Interface” and “Manager Class”.
But when I am using this it is not updating the Ring tone Volume.
We can change ring volume manually form silent to 10, but I want to change it in my application.
Tell me, either I am on right path or not after having a look of below code?

try{

player p = Manager.createPlayer("device://tone");
// I think createPlayer("device://tone") is not correct for the ring tone, can any one tell what would be the exact argument for ring tone? So that I can control the ring tone volume.
p.realize();
p.prefetch();


VolumeControl v= VolumeControl)p.getControl("VolumeControl");
int test1= v.getLevel(); // here I m getting always 70??
v.setLevel(50); // I have been setting with 50.
int test2= v.getLevel();


p.start();
} catch (IOException ioe) {
} catch (MediaException me) { }


If any one know to control the volume of ring tone, then please help me.

Thanks and regards
Imran ali
Offline  
Old 01-11-2010, 10:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default

You cannot. The user profiles are controlled by the user.
Offline  
Old 01-12-2010, 12:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Model: 8900
PIN: N/A
Carrier: telus
Posts: 35
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dougsg38p View Post
You cannot. The user profiles are controlled by the user.
i think it is possible, because what ever user is doing form user profile, that is internally only a few running code , right now i have problem because i am new for BB, but it is possible friend.....
Offline  
Old 01-13-2010, 02:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default

You can think what you want, but there is no access to profiles from the public Blackberry API's.

Yes, these do exist, but they are not exposed to 3rd-party developers.
Offline  
Old 01-19-2010, 04:36 AM   #5 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Model: 8900
PIN: N/A
Carrier: telus
Posts: 35
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dougsg38p View Post
You can think what you want, but there is no access to profiles from the public Blackberry API's.

Yes, these do exist, but they are not exposed to 3rd-party developers.
sorry,
yaa i am agree with you, but is any way to mute the current profile ring-tone and vibration by code ,
in my application i have to do this, but i did not get any api for this.

Thanks and regards
Imran ali
Offline  
Old 01-19-2010, 08:32 AM   #6 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default

There is no API for this. I have heard of folks attempting to use key injection to somehow control the volume, but haven't tried it and I'm not sure how successful this would be.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright © 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM © and BlackBerry © are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.