BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-28-2010, 09:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Telstra
Posts: 3
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default GPS approximate

Please Login to Remove!

Hi,

With the Location API, and under Options > Advanced Options > GPS, it needs one to be outdoor with a clear sky to get a valid location.

However, with Google Maps, it can make an approximate of my location (within 500m or so).

How do I implement such a functionality within a program of my own? Or is there anyway to extend Google Maps on the BlackBerry?

Thank you!
Offline  
Old 02-28-2010, 10:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Appleinator
 
Dubdub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Model: App5
OS: AJBR549
PIN: Ask
Carrier: ATT & Verizon
Posts: 20,036
Post Thanks: 54
Thanked 782 Times in 742 Posts
Default

Google Maps uses cell tower data and triangulation to find your approximate location with 1700 to 2500 meters.

Not sure how to implement.

Will move this to the Developer's Forum so you might have a better chance to get an answer.
__________________
-->>BB FAQ

-->>Stinsonddog's Tip Site!

-->>Twitter


If someone helps, tell them by clicking the Thanks button.!!
Offline  
Old 03-01-2010, 10:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Model: LEZ10
OS: 10.0.10
Carrier: Rogers CA
Posts: 1,704
Post Thanks: 20
Thanked 77 Times in 68 Posts
Default

Google doesn't use triangulation since neighboring cell strength isn't available through the API. They do use the location of the tower currently providing service, which is available. They have a large database of cellphone tower locations, but then Google knows everything.

There is a crowd source database that is available called OpenCellId which aims to provide the same functionality but is open to developers. Their data is, of course, not as extensive as Google's.
__________________
My other Blackberry is a PlayBook.
Offline  
Old 03-01-2010, 08:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Telstra
Posts: 3
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks guys. I think I'll take a look at OpenCellId and see if I can use that in anyway.

Thanks again.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.