BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-01-2010, 12:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 22
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Website menus in the BlackBerry browser

Please Login to Remove!

I'm building a website that primarily targets Blackberry users, to be used OTA (on the devices). After creating the site, I realized drop down menus would be the best choice for navigation. However, I don't want to use java since it's slower, heavier, and some people have it disabled. So I implemented a simple CSS menu, and it works great- on everything but a BlackBerry. The native browser simply cannot do any form of CSS drop-down. Thanks, RIM!

Now I'm back to square one. Anyone had experience with this? Any suggestions?
Offline  
Old 04-01-2010, 02:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Model: N/A
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Fledge
Posts: 43
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

This is technically the wrong forum to post this question, but it doesn't bother me.

I know some blackberries don't load remote CSS files by default, so you can avoid some problems by writing the css inline (in a style block). If that doesn't work, I would check for the user agent of the browser (using PHP or another language) and if it's a blackberry browser, serve a dumbed down version of the menu.
Offline  
Old 04-01-2010, 03:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 22
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jacob.tabak View Post
This is technically the wrong forum to post this question, but it doesn't bother me.

I know some blackberries don't load remote CSS files by default, so you can avoid some problems by writing the css inline (in a style block). If that doesn't work, I would check for the user agent of the browser (using PHP or another language) and if it's a blackberry browser, serve a dumbed down version of the menu.
The external CSS file is getting loaded fine (using it for various other things). I can't make the drop down menu any simpler... the browser just doesn't support it. And since this is essentially the only browser I'm writing this for, I guess I'm stuck. Sorry about posting in the wrong area, it seemed the best match. Guess I missed the correct one. Feel free to move this, mods!
Offline  
Old 04-01-2010, 04:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Model: N/A
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Fledge
Posts: 43
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Just make it not a drop down for blackberry, make it a regular menu. We always make custom layouts for blackberries.
Offline  
Old 04-01-2010, 07:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 22
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jacob.tabak View Post
Just make it not a drop down for blackberry, make it a regular menu. We always make custom layouts for blackberries.
I get what you mean, but that's kind of my problem, and why I asked the question. I was looking for a solution so that I could have drop down menus for the BlackBerry. And since this is pretty much a BlackBerry only website, I don't care much how it looks on any other platform (okay, yes, I do check it out in OSX Safari / Firefox / Win7 IE etc, but that's just the perfectionist in me). Drop downs can be very, very useful when designing a horizontal menu for a screen only 480 pixels max wide
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

General Electric 5KSP51AZL 115V Fan Motor Vintage Impedance Protected
$24.95
General Electric 5KSP51AZL 115V Fan Motor Vintage Impedance Protected  pictureTektronix TCA-1MEG High Impedance Buffer Amplifier
$599.0
Tektronix TCA-1MEG High Impedance Buffer Amplifier pictureZareba EAC25M-Z AC-Powered Low-Impedance 25-Mile-Range Charger
$189.33
Zareba EAC25M-Z AC-Powered Low-Impedance 25-Mile-Range Charger pictureSporlan Temperature Control Board 952792 High Input Impedance NIB
$450.0
Sporlan Temperature Control Board 952792 High Input Impedance NIB pictureFieldmaster 3 Electric Fence Charger, 15-Mile, Low Impedance, Plug-In
$132.99
Fieldmaster 3 Electric Fence Charger, 15-Mile, Low Impedance, Plug-In picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.