BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-22-2010, 12:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Model: 9630
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 11
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default hide default menu items

Please Login to Remove!

Hi. I want to display context menu without default items in it. It does not seem to matter that I erase the list, the default items (Close, Switch Application, Show Keyboard) do not disappear. Here's couple variations of the code.

private MenuItem mnuNewAcct=new MenuItem("New Account", 1, 10) {
public void run() {
//
}
};

protected void makeMenu(Menu menu, int context) {
menu.deleteAll();
menu.add(mnuNewAcct);
super.makeMenu(menu, context);
}

/***** OR *****/

protected void makeContextMenu(ContextMenu contextMenu) {
contextMenu.clear();
contextMenu.addItem(mnuNewAcct);
super.makeContextMenu(contextMenu);
}


protected boolean navigationClick(int status, int time) {
ContextMenu menu = this.getScreen().getContextMenu();
makeContextMenu(menu);
this.getScreen().onMenu(0);
return true;
}
Offline  
Old 07-22-2010, 01:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Paris, France
Model: None
PIN: N/A
Carrier: None
Posts: 36
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

As long as you call the "super" methods last you'll get the default entries, of course!
Offline  
Old 07-22-2010, 01:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Model: 9630
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 11
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Sorry, I should have removed it from the example. It does not make any difference if I have super or not. When I don't have it, the default menu items are added anyway. By the way, I'm on JDE 5.0, 9530 SIM. Thanks.
Offline  
Old 07-22-2010, 05:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Model: 9630
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 11
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

To close the loop on this. The only way I was able to get rid of the default items on the menu was to subclass Menu into my own class and instantiate and show that. No matter what I tried with the default menu, it would always add the Switch Application and Show Keyboard items to the end of it.
Offline  




Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.