BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-20-2010, 12:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Model: 8900
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 4
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default BlackBerry App Under BES Environment

Please Login to Remove!

Hi All,

1) We have a BlackBerry application which runs perfectly in an evironment without BlackBerry Enterprise Server (BES), however, as soon as your introduce BES into the picture it fails. We've modified 3rd party application settings in BES to no avail. In addition, this will be a commercial application and we do not want to trouble the clients with various BES settings. If there is a way to bypass BES that would be ideal.

2) Is there anyway to deploy the application through a J2ME website (i.e. hostj2me.com/xyz.jad) instead of BES or BlackBerry Desktop Manager and have it still work?

Any input on this would be much appreciated.

Thank you.
Offline  
Old 08-20-2010, 02:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default

"it fails" is not a very descriptive problem report.

What is failing?
Offline  
Old 08-20-2010, 03:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Model: LEZ10
OS: 10.0.10
Carrier: Rogers CA
Posts: 1,704
Post Thanks: 20
Thanked 77 Times in 68 Posts
Default

The idea of having a BES is to be able (if you desire) to control the Blackberries in your corporate environment. There is no way for an app or a BES user to overide BES IT Policy without BES administrator cooperation.
__________________
My other Blackberry is a PlayBook.
Offline  
Old 08-20-2010, 03:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Model: 8900
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 4
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default BlackBerry App Under BES Environment

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dougsg38p View Post
"it fails" is not a very descriptive problem report.

What is failing?
The server returned an error: 406 Not Acceptable
Offline  
Old 08-20-2010, 04:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default

Have you looked at the server-side logs to determine what it is having a problem with?

Are you trying to go around BES, or through it?

What connection parameters are you using?

What headers are you setting?

Is this a POST? If so, are you setting the Content-length header? If not, BES may choke on it when transcribing the traffic.
Offline  
Old 08-21-2010, 05:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Model: 8900
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 4
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default BlackBerry App Under BES Environment

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dougsg38p View Post
Have you looked at the server-side logs to determine what it is having a problem with?

Yes, but the logs are empty as the app is not communicating with the mobile app server.

Are you trying to go around BES, or through it?

Trying to go around BES so the app does not have to deal with BES security settings.

What connection parameters are you using?

htp://IP_Address/web/cbsappqueryv2?phone=xxxx&act=xxx

What headers are you setting?

connection.setRequestMethod(HttpConnection.POST);
connection.setRequestProperty("Content-Type", "application/octet-stream");
connection.setRequestProperty("Accept", "application/octet-stream");
// connection.setRequestProperty( "Content-Length", requestArgs.length()+"");

Is this a POST? If so, are you setting the Content-length header? If not, BES may choke on it when transcribing the traffic.
Yes, this is post and I have not yet tried with content-length header.
Offline  
Old 08-21-2010, 06:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default

What kind of payload are you sending? You need to align your "content-type" with what the server is expecting. Based on the error, it might be an issue with unnacceptable content type.

Many servers will have issues with binary content unlesss you set the content length.

Also, when I asked you about connection parameters, I'm referring to the Blackberry connection parameters. If you are on a device with BES, then you should be appending no parameters to your URL. If you are on a device that is NOT on a BES, you will need some type of connection parameters (like ";deviceside=true" and the APN info). The reason I asked the question is that you may still be appending connection parameters (requesting a Direct TCP connection for insance), and this may be restricted by BES. So, you are almost always going to detect that the device is on BES, and make sure that you are routing though BES, rather than around it.

Last edited by Dougsg38p : 08-21-2010 at 06:20 PM.
Offline  
Old 08-24-2010, 11:34 AM   #8 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Model: 8900
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 4
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dougsg38p View Post
What kind of payload are you sending? You need to align your "content-type" with what the server is expecting. Based on the error, it might be an issue with unnacceptable content type.

>>> The payload is simple textual data and nothing else. The content type is aligned accordingly with what the server can expect.

Many servers will have issues with binary content unlesss you set the content length.

>>> You are right, but if you see the code it is set.

Also, when I asked you about connection parameters, I'm referring to the Blackberry connection parameters. If you are on a device with BES, then you should be appending no parameters to your URL. If you are on a device that is NOT on a BES, you will need some type of connection parameters (like ";deviceside=true" and the APN info). The reason I asked the question is that you may still be appending connection parameters (requesting a Direct TCP connection for insance), and this may be restricted by BES. So, you are almost always going to detect that the device is on BES, and make sure that you are routing though BES, rather than around it.
>>> I will need to implement this and then I can see if this works or not. Would you be able to refer me to a simple application (with source code to analyze) which just communicates with the server to authenticate a user and can successfully run in a BES environment? That would be of great help! Thank you.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.