BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-09-2010, 03:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
pfowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Model: 8310
PIN: N/A
Carrier: ATT
Posts: 39
Post Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Problem w/ BES 5 Push to Torch

Please Login to Remove!

I'm running some tests on our new Torch and am running into some problems.
  1. App is a background app with a frontend for status. It launches at startup.
  2. App loads, but does not run when using BES Push or Desktop Manager (.alx)
  3. App and modules appear in app list under "options"
  4. App does not appear in main app screen, "Applications" or "Downloads"
  5. App details states that it is not running
  6. App's icon does not appear in app list as expected
  7. When doing an OTA download (jad,cod,etc) from website, app runs and functions properly

We have two different COD's configured, one for touchscreen compiled w/ 4.7:
Code:
<fileset Java="1.34"  _blackberryVersion="[4.7.0,6.0)">
and one for others compiled w/ 4.0:
Code:
<fileset Java="1.34"  _blackberryVersion="(4.0,4.6.1]">
We also have two modules that are loaded dynamically depending on pre or post 4.2 API support

The app pushes and works correctly on 4.2, 4.5, 4.6, 4.7 and 5.0 devices
Only the 6.0 device fails

One note is that prior to pushing from the BES, I did an OTA download of the app. At one point it was showing 2 versions in the app list: 1 OTA Download running properly w/ Icon, 1 BES Push not running w/o Icon

Any insight on what's new in 6.0 that I may not be accounting for in my alx? Something else?

Last edited by pfowler : 09-09-2010 at 03:55 PM.
Offline  
Old 09-10-2010, 07:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
pfowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Model: 8310
PIN: N/A
Carrier: ATT
Posts: 39
Post Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The problem was in the definition of the _blackberryVersion for the code compiled with the 4.7 API. In our original alx file, the version string was defined as:
Code:
_blackberryVersion="[4.7.0,6.0)"
However, this does not properly include the 6.0 software (eg: the proper COD file was not loaded). So next I tried:
Code:
_blackberryVersion="[4.7.0,6.0]"
This also failed. Finally I went with the following:
Code:
_blackberryVersion="[4.7.0,)"
Which should do us well for a while to come.

For reference, I found the following in the bb support forums and I thought it would be valuable in this context:
Quote:
Use the following rules to specify a range:
Square brackets [ ] indicate inclusive (closed) range matching
Round brackets ( ) indicate exclusive (open) range matching
Missing lower value implies 0
Missing upper value implies infinity
Hope this helps someone
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.