BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-10-2010, 09:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Model: 8820
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 72
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default can Javaloader put modules into a group?

Please Login to Remove!

I have 7 modules in my application. In order for all of them to use the permissions set by the first module that runs (the startup module) I understand that they all need to be in a group. When installed OTA or with the Desktop Manager (from an ALX) they are all placed in a group, but when I use the javaloader and name each cod file, they are not in a group.

How can I get the javaloader to create and put the modules into a group?

Paul
Offline  
Old 09-10-2010, 01:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Model: LEZ10
OS: 10.0.10
Carrier: Rogers CA
Posts: 1,704
Post Thanks: 20
Thanked 77 Times in 68 Posts
Default

It looks like the answer was no in 2008: Reading custom property from JAD
__________________
My other Blackberry is a PlayBook.
Offline  
Old 09-10-2010, 02:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Model: 8820
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 72
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Good find hrbuckley.
Thanks

Too bad that guy didn't address his own suggestion of creating a group in his code and putting his modules in there, since that is on my "to-try" list.
Offline  
Old 09-10-2010, 03:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default

Try sending the JAD file to the device also - this seems to work for me.
Offline  
Old 09-10-2010, 05:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Model: 8820
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 72
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the suggestion. The problem with using a JAD file is the need to make the JAD file, which requires the SHA and Size of each module. I'm assuming the JAD that the javaloader wants is the full JAD that is needed for over-the-air installation. In addition, for OTA, for large modules, the 64K limited "sub" modules need to be specified.

I have a program that generates this for OTA installation, but I'm not sure if it would be the same for the javaloader.

Do you happen to know what needs to be in the JAD for the Javaloader?

Also, the Javaloader claims to be able to take a Manifest file, but I can not find any documentation on what needs to be in that file.

Finally, do you know if putting code in the application to put the modules into a group, if they are not already in a group, would satisfy the problem with permissions?
Offline  
Old 09-10-2010, 10:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default

The JAD is generated when you compile, right? Why do you need to "make" the JAD file?
Offline  
Old 09-10-2010, 10:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Model: 8820
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 72
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

No, the compiler generates individual JAD files - that is, a JAD file is generated for each COD. But when an application is composed of many CODs you need a composite JAD file - one JAD file that defines all of the modules. It is not just a matter of copying all of the individual JADs into one big JAD.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.