BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-05-2010, 06:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Model: 8330
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Telus
Posts: 2
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default MDS Emulator Can't See Localhost Apache

Please Login to Remove!

I'm running the latest version of the Blackberry emulator for a 9800 on Windows XP, I've started the MDS service and I can browse web pages on the internet with the emulator like Google, Yahoo, etc.

The problem is that I can't access the Apache server I have hosting a localhost website.

I run the Blackberry emulator and launch the Browser then try to connect to http: // localhost and get the error message:

"Not authorized to access localhost:80"

If I try to access the same URL using a normal web browser the hello.html page comes up fine.

I have seen other posts on this site that indicate you can try the IP address. This didn't work.

I've also seen a post that said if you go to the MDS service's Tomcat application you can see the name it thinks the localhost is called. I tried this by connecting to the IP address of my workstation at port 8080. This worked to display the MDS Connection Service panel and showed the name of the MDS-CD URL as http : // workstationname.mydomain.local. I tried accessing http : // workstationname.mydomain.local / hello.html and got the following error popup message in the emulator:

"This is a Wi-Fi service. Please ensure your device has an active Wi-Fi connection and try again"

What am I doing wrong?
Offline  
Old 10-05-2010, 11:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default

MDS will keep you from connecting to the localhost.

I get around this by adding a host entry in my host table, giving the machine some alias, but pointing it to the local IP address. MDS can't stop you this way.
Offline  
Old 10-07-2010, 01:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Model: 8330
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Telus
Posts: 2
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Dougsg38p, you are the man!

I looked all over this site for a hint as to what was going on with this problem and couldn't find anything.

I tried your suggestion and it works beautifully.

Thanks for sharing!
Offline  
Old 11-01-2010, 04:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Model: 9800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: bell
Posts: 1
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thumbs up Real Blackberry "Emulator"

hey ,

after reviewing some emulators i encountered by accident with
the best testing tool of all.

it's called the perfectomobile handset cloud and you can really operate the phone keys, touch-screen, or QWERTY keyboard to control the device, install
applications on the device and verify that your
application or service works properly and displays correctly on the
phone’s screen.

you guys should try it , its free to try
Offline  
Old 11-01-2010, 04:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default

Your post has nothing to do with the original thread.

If you have something worthwhile to say, then create your own thread.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright © 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM © and BlackBerry © are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.