BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-13-2006, 10:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Model: 7290
Posts: 16
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Auto-run on startup in handheld device

Please Login to Remove!

The application runs automatically at start up in the simulator.
I would like to do te same in the device.

In the IDE Help they have mentioned:

Note: Auto-run applications must be digitally signed by RIM to run on BlackBerry devices.

Do any one have an idea about "Digitally signed"?
What we have to do?
Is there a form to fill out ?

Please let me know the details.

Thanks in advance.
Offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 06:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: hamburg, germany
Model: 8900
Carrier: o2
Posts: 838
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

you need to buy signing keys from RIM, they are $us 100 for each client.

gs
simon
__________________
java developer, Devinto, hamburg/germany
Offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 01:48 AM   #3 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Model: 7290
Carrier: Airtel
Posts: 21
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Shan,

Did you try your application in the device?

I also have a CLDC application with auto-run selected. My application is not digitally signed and it works perfectly.

--
Kamal
Offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 11:36 AM   #4 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Model: 7290
Posts: 16
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I tried the application in the device by selection auto-run(Project Properties). This application is also CLDC application.

In Project Properties:
Project type as "CLDC application"
I have checked the options "none", "System Module" and "Auto-run on start-up".

First time I selected the start-up tier as 6.


Secondly I changed the start-up tier to 7.

But the application didn't work in the device.


Thanks,
Shan
Offline  
Old 01-18-2006, 03:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Francisco, CA
Model: 7290
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 53
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I used what RIM calls an alternate entry point. Here's some documentation for doing this:

http://www.blackberry.com/knowledgec...?nodeid=800820


Rich
Offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 02:23 AM   #6 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Model: 7290
Carrier: Airtel
Posts: 21
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shan
I tried the application in the device by selection auto-run(Project Properties). This application is also CLDC application.

In Project Properties:
Project type as "CLDC application"
I have checked the options "none", "System Module" and "Auto-run on start-up".

First time I selected the start-up tier as 6.


Secondly I changed the start-up tier to 7.

But the application didn't work in the device.


Thanks,
Shan

If you have checked "System Module", you wont see any icon on your main display. It runs as a backgroung system process. Try unchecking that option.
Offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 02:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Model: 7290
Posts: 16
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I wanted to run it on background.

Thanks
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

TEKTRONIX TM 515 TM515 MAINFRAME / PLUG IN CHASSIS
$50.0
TEKTRONIX TM 515 TM515  MAINFRAME / PLUG IN CHASSIS picture(Chroma) QuadTech 44040 Programmable DC Electronic Load Mainframe w/ 2 Modules
$900.0
(Chroma) QuadTech 44040 Programmable DC Electronic Load Mainframe w/ 2 Modules pictureFarmall IH Plow main hub to hold rim & tire to main frame
$55.91
Farmall IH Plow main hub to hold rim & tire to main frame pictureTEKTRONIX CURRENT PROBE A6302, AMPLIFIER AM503B & MAINFRAME TM502A
$650.0
TEKTRONIX CURRENT PROBE A6302, AMPLIFIER AM503B & MAINFRAME TM502A  picture(Chroma) QuadTech 44040 Programmable DC Electronic Load Mainframe w/ 4 Modules
$1200.0
(Chroma) QuadTech 44040 Programmable DC Electronic Load Mainframe w/ 4 Modules picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.