BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-28-2010, 03:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Madrid
Model: 9700
OS: Windows 7
PIN: N/A
Carrier: vodafone
Posts: 4
Post Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question works in simulator not in device

Please Login to Remove!

Hello all,

I have setup a web site with IIS in windows 7, when I open the browser in the simulator and write the address of the site (h t t p : / / l o c a l h o s t : 8 0 0 0 / h e l l o . h t m l) I can see the page Hello World! on the browser, same using IP address instead of local host.

When I connect the blackberry device with the PC with the USB cable I can not connect and I receive the error 504 in the browser and -no route to host- (113) in details. I connect with WI-FI to my network and I also get the same errors when trying to access the web site.

Does someone know what is happening and how to solve this problem?.

I am using windows 7 professional, eclipse and Blacberry JDE 5 and 6, my device is bold 9700.

Thank you very much for your help.
Offline  
Old 11-28-2010, 05:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Model: LEZ10
OS: 10.0.10
Carrier: Rogers CA
Posts: 1,704
Post Thanks: 20
Thanked 77 Times in 68 Posts
Default Re: works in simulator not in device

It is not surprising that you can not access your local network through USB or wireless, that's how it works.

When trying to connect using Wi-Fi are you using the HotSpot Browser or the default browser (which is probably the Internet Browser)?
__________________
My other Blackberry is a PlayBook.
Offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to hrbuckley For This Useful Post:
san_luis (12-09-2010)
Old 11-28-2010, 06:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
BlackBerry Mensa
 
tsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Others run out when we run in
Model: Z10
OS: 10.010219
PIN: No Pin just a Tack
Carrier: at&t
Posts: 8,302
Post Thanks: 43
Thanked 580 Times in 575 Posts
Default Re: works in simulator not in device

The blackberry needs to go to the carriers site then to RIM then to the online internet web page. Unless you have it open on the internet your out of luck testing the way you are.
__________________
If someone helps, tell them by clicking the Thanks button


9810 BES
Z10 on BES
9700 BIS
Offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to tsac For This Useful Post:
san_luis (12-09-2010)
Old 11-28-2010, 08:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Model: LEZ10
OS: 10.0.10
Carrier: Rogers CA
Posts: 1,704
Post Thanks: 20
Thanked 77 Times in 68 Posts
Default Re: works in simulator not in device

Here are some screen shots of my Torch accessing the web server on my Wi-Fi router using the Wi-Fi connection. The Torch has OS6 wich picks the connection for you. Unless your 9700 has OS6 you will have to use the Hotspot Browser, or append ';interface=wifi' to your URL for programatic access, on OS5 or lower.

First using the domain name (my router provides local DNS services):


And using the local IP address:
__________________
My other Blackberry is a PlayBook.
Offline  
Old 12-09-2010, 02:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Madrid
Model: 9700
OS: Windows 7
PIN: N/A
Carrier: vodafone
Posts: 4
Post Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: works in simulator not in device

Thanks for your answer, after doing some research in the internet and some tests I finally connect to my wifi network, one main point is to set hot spot browser in the balckberry.
Offline  
Old 12-09-2010, 07:20 AM   #6 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Model: LEZ10
OS: 10.0.10
Carrier: Rogers CA
Posts: 1,704
Post Thanks: 20
Thanked 77 Times in 68 Posts
Default Re: works in simulator not in device

Yes that is the case on OS 5 and lower. OS 6 no longer has separate browsers.

By the way, the OS in your profile should be the OS version of your Blackberry, not your PC.
__________________
My other Blackberry is a PlayBook.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads for: works in simulator not in device
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BlackBerry OS (and "Beta" OS) Upgrade Myths Dispelled: John Clark General BlackBerry Discussion 90 12-22-2013 06:42 AM
Leaked: 4.6.1.152 for the Curve 8900 Dancass Beta You Than Me 48 02-15-2009 11:26 PM
why my 7100T cannot power up bahn General Legacy Device Discussion 6 03-10-2007 03:02 AM
BES 4.1 SP2 for Microsoft Exchange - Now Available jibi BES Admin Corner 51 01-10-2007 09:30 AM
BES 4.0 SP3 for Exchange available for Download jnelson2000 BES Admin Corner 72 01-12-2006 01:44 PM





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.