BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-25-2011, 08:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
anw
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: May 2010
Model: 9000
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 15
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default BB Simulator Won't Start

Please Login to Remove!

I'm using Eclipse Helios and the latest BB plugin, and I have just loaded it. I launched my app for a test run, which uses the ContactList select method, with the 8830 4.5 simulator and got to that point (where the user should select a contact), and, since there were no contacts in the list and I didn't feel like adding one, I just hit the middle (select?) button (which normally would have selected a contact) to jump back to my program, which should have then thrown an exception.

Instead, the 8830 simulator just exited. Ever since that first time, the simulator won't even start. The simulator window with the image comes up, the little hour glass rotating with the text "Debugger Attaching", then just goes away. I have cleaned the simulator and cleaned my project (both via the menu items in Eclipse). Here are some further symptoms:

1. In the "Debug" window, there is nothing but:
Quote:
<terminated>8830 [BlackBerry Simulator]
<disconnected>RIM JVM[localhost:8000]
2. There is nothing in the "Error Log", and the "Problems" view only has the Java warning my app generated (not signed & some variables not used, awaiting further code to be added).

3. The "Console" contains only:
Quote:
No debug information found for 'SecurIDLib' (456c5107).
[0.0] VM:-DA 0
I was trying this as a quickie test and must now go to a prior appointment, but will try other simulators when I come back to this to see if they have the same problem. In the meantime, I sure would appreciate any insight.

Of course, I will post code if that helps, but the simulator is never even getting to the startup screen, much less running my code (just to verify, because I'm superstitious, you know, I put a break point on the very first line of my code; it's never triggered, of course).
__________________
TIA,
Allen
Offline  
Old 01-25-2011, 12:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default Re: BB Simulator Won't Start

After cleaning the simulator, go to the simulator directory and remove the *.dmp files (there should be 3). Then restart the simulator and see if this clears up the issue.
Offline  
Old 01-25-2011, 03:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
anw
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: May 2010
Model: 9000
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 15
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: BB Simulator Won't Start

Thanks! I'll try that as soon as I get back to my development system.
__________________
TIA,
Allen
Offline  
Old 01-26-2011, 06:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
anw
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: May 2010
Model: 9000
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 15
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: BB Simulator Won't Start

Dougsg38p:

Went to do as you suggested. Found four (4) .dmp files in the 8300 simulator directory. Then, prior to deleting them, I fired up Eclipse and cleaned the simulator. Turns out that cleaning the simulator deleted those files.

Any further ideas will be greatly appreciated.

[EDIT]: However, now when I start the debugger it seems to start fine. I don't know what change was made, except maybe stopping and restarting Eclipse.

I did get an error message saying it doesn't have line numbers for an interface I defined. Not sure what's up with that, but I'll post back here is there are further problems that are on-topic for this thread.

Thanks!!
__________________
TIA,
Allen

Last edited by anw : 01-26-2011 at 06:36 AM. Reason: New Data
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads for: BB Simulator Won't Start
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to switch BB to keep old appts dding0919 General BlackBerry Discussion 1 03-17-2010 03:33 PM
Blackberry BOLD 9700 with at&t on or before November 22 Audiobahn General 9700 Series Discussion - Bold 2 35 11-18-2009 06:52 PM
BB 8900 hotmail issue: The End user will receive the email with question marks if usi baraka081608 General 8900 Series Discussion - Javelin 2 04-07-2009 01:03 AM
Mobimouse - turns your BB into a Mouse/Keyboard for any Windows PC! Redflea Aftermarket Software 10 03-30-2009 10:41 PM
BB BOld keeps resetting on start up. Anyone help? cheswick General BlackBerry Discussion 1 10-06-2008 01:42 PM





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.