BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-07-2011, 12:30 AM   #1 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
abhsax1978@hotmail.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NOIDA
Model: 8100
OS: 4.2.1.91
PIN: 2052AEF9
Carrier: Soft. Engg.
Posts: 111
Post Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default what is the difference between setting apn on device and setting ;apn=blackberry.net

Please Login to Remove!

what is the difference between setting apn on device and setting ;apn=blackberry.net in application.

When I am doing this setting in application, the connection fails every time, but when I am setting this on device advance settings TCP/IP APN, the application flawlessly works.

Condition: My APN is coupled with the site. NO OTHER SITE is going to open with this APN and My site will NEVER open with any OTHER APN.

This device setting also will not effect other application during the connection, as the device chooses appropriate connection settings.

The question hence should be how to set the APN within the Application.

Regards and Thanks in advance.
__________________
having new s for developers!!!
Offline  
Old 06-07-2011, 03:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
abhsax1978@hotmail.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NOIDA
Model: 8100
OS: 4.2.1.91
PIN: 2052AEF9
Carrier: Soft. Engg.
Posts: 111
Post Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: what is the difference between setting apn on device and setting ;apn=blackberry.

The reason we badly need to set APN in our application through program, is that in near future we need to use two different APN. Separately for a separate functionality.

Regards
__________________
having new s for developers!!!
Offline  
Old 06-07-2011, 05:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
abhsax1978@hotmail.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NOIDA
Model: 8100
OS: 4.2.1.91
PIN: 2052AEF9
Carrier: Soft. Engg.
Posts: 111
Post Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: what is the difference between setting apn on device and setting ;apn=blackberry.

Hello, this is very urgent, otherwise I have only one option left, and the workaround is to promptly persuade the user to set the APN manually on the settings, though it does not affect the functionality of other applications.

Regards
__________________
having new s for developers!!!
Offline  
Old 06-07-2011, 07:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default Re: what is the difference between setting apn on device and setting ;apn=blackberry.

You also need ";deviceside=true" along with the APN data, if appended to the URL.

Otherwise, both should work equally well.

Don't forget that the APN data is carrier-specific - what works on one carrier will not always work on another.
Offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Dougsg38p For This Useful Post:
abhsax1978@hotmail.com (09-03-2011)
Old 09-02-2011, 02:30 AM   #5 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
abhsax1978@hotmail.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NOIDA
Model: 8100
OS: 4.2.1.91
PIN: 2052AEF9
Carrier: Soft. Engg.
Posts: 111
Post Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unhappy Re: what is the difference between setting apn on device and setting ;apn=blackberry.

The conditions for my bb app to run:
  1. My Operator Op_A gives me APN Apn_a by default, but it also gives Apn_b that is not visible to client.
  2. Apn_b is meant to run my application (embedded web site). It will not run on any other APN.
  3. Any site: that is Google for example will not open using Apn_b.
  4. Blackberry does the polling to connect the sites internally.
  5. When I set the APN from my handset's tcp/ip advanced settings, my application runs.
  6. When I disable the above setting, and use APN=Apn_b, the logger shows the this APN is being used, but the connection does not happen.

What I want to know is that why does the APN accepted in the device setting, and what I have to do from my application to get it connected?



Summary of settings:

public static final String urlSuff = ";WapGatewayIP=w.x.y.z;WapGatewayPort=x_1;tunnelAu thUsername=x_2;tunnelAuthPassword=x_3;wapGatewayAp n=blackberry.net;apn=Apn_b;interface=cellular;devi ceside=true";

I append this with the URL I have to browse.

Regards.
__________________
having new s for developers!!!

Last edited by abhsax1978@hotmail.com : 09-02-2011 at 02:33 AM.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads for: what is the difference between setting apn on device and setting ;apn=blackberry.net
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Losing Call Logs, SMS or Emails? Optimize your BB! How To Setup for max free memory! John Clark BlackBerry Help 1620 12-31-2012 06:43 AM
Remove IT Policy John Clark RIM Software 571 10-01-2012 07:03 AM
Blackberry Activation(s)... Barry_Black General BlackBerry Discussion 5 06-07-2007 12:07 PM
OS 4.1.0.529/4.1.0.377 - Release Notes and Known Issues jibi General Legacy Device Discussion 19 02-26-2007 06:52 PM
BES for Domino 4.0 SP4 - Coming Soon jibi BES Admin Corner 0 03-01-2006 10:29 AM





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.