BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-12-2011, 11:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Model: 8900
PIN: N/A
Carrier: developer
Posts: 1
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default BIS Connection

Please Login to Remove!

Hi guys. I am new in this blackberry development thing. In these several days, I already read and learned from forums about how to establish BIS connection in my own application.

There are two things I wanna ask.
1. How to use this code:

String url = "myURL;deviceside=false;ConnectionType=mds-public";
httpConnection = (HttpConnection) Connector.open(url);

I still cannot establish any connection through BIS from this code.

2. I read that to use BIS conenction, I have to be a member of Alliance Program and have to pay a big amount of money to have the legal permission. Is it true? I mean.. I just wondering, do I really need to spend that much to build a free program? it doesnt make any sense at all to me >.<

Thank you.
Offline  
Old 10-15-2011, 10:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default Re: BIS Connection

Where are you trying this code? On the simulator or the device? (BIS is not possible on the simulator).

Your code should be checking to see what transports are available before requesting a specific connection type. BIS is not available in all areas.
Offline  
Old 11-23-2011, 06:06 AM   #3 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 2
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: BIS Connection

i am developing a third party app and using AES encryption to encrypt the request before sending it to my apps server?????
could u telll me how BES and BIS comes into picture ?????????????
Offline  
Old 11-23-2011, 06:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 2
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: BIS Connection

how to do Encryption of third party request on ur own app server???
how BIS and BES comes into picture ?????????????????????
Offline  
Old 11-26-2011, 05:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default Re: BIS Connection

BES is a Blackberry enterprise infrastructure product that is typicall7y used by large companies with a large fleet of Blackberries. This only comes into play if your customer happens to be on a BES network.

BIS is a carrier-agnostic communications infrastructure maintained by RIM for consumer customers.

In either case, your application has to detect the type of infrastructure available, and create an appropriate connection.
Offline  
Old 12-11-2011, 11:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Model: 9300
PIN: N/A
Carrier: XL
Posts: 24
Post Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: BIS Connection

I am also curious with the second question raised by mitracomm. Can anyone confirm please?
Offline  
Old 12-12-2011, 12:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default Re: BIS Connection

BIS is available only to alliance partners. You don't pay for BIS, exactly, but you have to maintain your Alliance status to continue having access, which of course is very difficult for independent developers.

RIM also requires that each individual application be approved before using BIS.

Now, having said all of that, I'm not sure that they really enforce much of this (based on my observations of non-Alliance developers). Of course, they have the right to deny your access to BIS if they see something they don't like.

BIS is not an absolute requirement for independent developers, because you can still use the internet with Direct TCP, WAP, WAP2 or WiFi.
Offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Dougsg38p For This Useful Post:
shinta (12-13-2011)
Old 12-13-2011, 06:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Model: 9300
PIN: N/A
Carrier: XL
Posts: 24
Post Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: BIS Connection

Thanks for the answer Dougsg38p
Offline  
Old 12-14-2011, 08:51 AM   #9 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Model: LEZ10
OS: 10.0.10
Carrier: Rogers CA
Posts: 1,704
Post Thanks: 20
Thanked 77 Times in 68 Posts
Default Re: BIS Connection

The sample code that comes with PUSH API service credentials also has the connection type needed to use BIS, implying that approved push apps are allowed to use BIS to access their respective servers. There are levels of PUSH service available for no charge without Alliance membership.
__________________
My other Blackberry is a PlayBook.
Offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to hrbuckley For This Useful Post:
shinta (12-18-2011)
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads for: BIS Connection
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WPA2-PSK No Connection BIS gibbylinks General 9500 Series Discussion - Storm 9 05-21-2010 02:57 AM
BIS connection to OWA rughbir BlackBerry Network 4 05-10-2008 10:52 AM
Remote Database Connection Pool kerseyr BES Admin Corner 10 03-25-2008 06:15 AM
BES server that was configured at another site seems to require that site to work mannyp BES Admin Corner 7 07-05-2007 08:48 PM
Which email connection is fastest with BIS 2.0? Texas_Traveler General BlackBerry Discussion 1 06-14-2006 09:44 AM





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.