BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-04-2012, 02:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Model: 9630
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Reliance
Posts: 29
Post Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Need to Know Mobile is in Motion State

Please Login to Remove!

Hi Friends,

I Need to know is my blackberry mobile in Motion state or in Stay state.

How could i know this..
Offline  
Old 05-04-2012, 08:06 AM   #2 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default Re: Need to Know Mobile is in Motion State

Define "in motion state" and "in stay state"

What exactly are you trying to detect?

There are two possibilities, depending on what you are trying to accomplish: GPS or Accellerometer.
Offline  
Old 05-04-2012, 11:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Model: 9630
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Reliance
Posts: 29
Post Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Need to Know Mobile is in Motion State

Hi currently i m implementing GPS Application and i need to stop gps for some time which is mobile is not in motion state. If mobile is in motion state then i have to start gps. To accomplish this object i need to know mobile is in motion or not..

My mobile doesn't support Accellerometer concept.. (9300) so i can't implement with this program..
Offline  
Old 05-05-2012, 09:21 AM   #4 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Model: LEZ10
OS: 10.0.10
Carrier: Rogers CA
Posts: 1,704
Post Thanks: 20
Thanked 77 Times in 68 Posts
Default Re: Need to Know Mobile is in Motion State

The GPS will tell you when motion has stopped, within reason. One thing I have used to start the GPS up again is the change in current active cell which can be gotten from GPRSInfo or CDMAInfo on a periodic basis.
__________________
My other Blackberry is a PlayBook.
Offline  
Old 05-06-2012, 11:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Model: 9630
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Reliance
Posts: 29
Post Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Need to Know Mobile is in Motion State

what is mean my current active cell? I need to implement same (have to start gps when user in motion).
Offline  
Old 05-07-2012, 07:03 AM   #6 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Model: LEZ10
OS: 10.0.10
Carrier: Rogers CA
Posts: 1,704
Post Thanks: 20
Thanked 77 Times in 68 Posts
Default Re: Need to Know Mobile is in Motion State

A cell phone communicates with the network through one cell (a radio tower that interfaces the carriers network to the cellphone frequencies) at a time. A change from one cell to another, or a significant change in signal strength can indicate a change in location. You will need to develop a set of appropriate heuristics to determine when it is appropriate to start the GPS. Starting and stopping the GPS on a cycle shorter than 10 minutes actually takes more power than just letting it run.

If you are not familiar with these concepts I would suggest that you do some research into how mobile devices operate before taking on such a complex project.
__________________
My other Blackberry is a PlayBook.
Offline  
Old 05-07-2012, 08:38 AM   #7 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Model: 9630
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Reliance
Posts: 29
Post Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Need to Know Mobile is in Motion State

can i use GPRSInfo.getCellInfo().getCellId() and GPRSInfo.getCellInfo().getLAC() methods to get the vary of different places?
Offline  
Old 05-07-2012, 11:20 AM   #8 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Model: LEZ10
OS: 10.0.10
Carrier: Rogers CA
Posts: 1,704
Post Thanks: 20
Thanked 77 Times in 68 Posts
Default Re: Need to Know Mobile is in Motion State

GPRSInfo.getCellInfo().getCellId() will tell you what the current cell is. When it changes the phone will be talking to the network through a different cell. This may or may not indicate a change in location.

You may also want to look at your LocationProvider Criteria. If your provider supports Cellsite location based service then you could use that. Not all providers support this, and some that do charge extra for it. So like I said you need to do the research into what is available from your carrier(s) and on the phones you are developing for.
__________________
My other Blackberry is a PlayBook.
Offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to hrbuckley For This Useful Post:
narasinga (05-07-2012)
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads for: Need to Know Mobile is in Motion State
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mindit Assist V1.8 just released, smart mobile document delivery ian Aftermarket Software 0 07-24-2005 01:11 PM





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.