BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-06-2012, 03:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Model: 7100t
Carrier: 3g
Posts: 1
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Trying to code and posted in the wrong place

Please Login to Remove!

hi any one here help me plz i am beginging in blackberry development i want to calculate distance when i drive my car to stop . my code get latitude , logitude , speed and show map correctly but temporary distance = 0
this is the code
public LocationHandler(LocationMainScreen screen) {
this.screen = screen;

public Coordinates[] getCoordinateHistory() {
Coordinates[] coordinates = new Coordinates[coordinateHistory.size()];
return coordinates;

public void locationUpdated(LocationProvider provider, Location location) {
QualifiedCoordinates qualifiedCoordinates = location.getQualifiedCoordinates();

screen.setLocation(qualifiedCoordinates.getLongitu de(), qualifiedCoordinates.getLatitude());

String message = "Successfully got location at ";
SimpleDateFormat simpleDateFormat = new SimpleDateFormat("HH:mm:ss");
message += simpleDateFormat.format(new Date(location.getTimestamp()));

if (coordinateHistory.size() > 0) {
Coordinates lastCoordinates = (Coordinates)coordinateHistory.lastElement();
message += "\nDistance from last update: " + lastCoordinates.distance(qualifiedCoordinates);

coordinateHistory.addElement(qualifiedCoordinates) ;

public void run() {
Criteria csCriteria = new Criteria();
csCriteria.setHorizontalAccuracy(Criteria.NO_REQUI REMENT);
csCriteria.setVerticalAccuracy(Criteria.NO_REQUIRE MENT);
csCriteria.setPreferredPowerConsumption(Criteria.P OWER_USAGE_LOW);

Criteria criteria = new Criteria();
criteria.setPreferredPowerConsumption(Criteria.POW ER_USAGE_HIGH);

try {
screen.setMessage("Getting location...");
LocationProvider provider = LocationProvider.getInstance(criteria);
Location location = provider.getLocation(-1);

locationUpdated(provider, location);
if (periodicUpdates) {
// Update every 3 minutes
provider.setLocationListener(this, 180, -1, 10);
} catch (LocationException e) {
screen.setMessage("LocationException occurred getting location: " + e.getMessage());
} catch (InterruptedException e) {
screen.setMessage("InterruptedException occurred getting location: " + e.getMessage());
Old 11-06-2012, 07:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
BBF Spam Killer Moderator
daphne's Avatar
Join Date: May 2007
Location: on a sunny beach
Model: Paspt
Carrier: VZW but not for long
Posts: 9,172
Post Thanks: 122
Thanked 149 Times in 118 Posts
Default Re: Trying to code and posted in the wrong place

Hi, I suggest you to check out the BlackBerry developer site. There is lots of info and even sample code.
There are some developers here too that might be able to help.
Report spam text messages to 7726
#BlackBerry by choice
Closed Thread

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Copyright 2004-2014
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.