BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-29-2012, 02:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Model: 7100T
PIN: N/A
Carrier: private
Posts: 3
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default BES Express and DR in another datacenter

Please Login to Remove!

I have read "BlackBerry Enterprise Server for Microsoft Exchange
Disaster Recovery Guide" and i have some questions.

First, does this guide apply to the Express version of BES also?

Once a disaster event has been declared, my plan is to bring up a copy of the BESX (VMware) VM in the standby datacenter along with a copy of the database. (These copies are kept up to date in the standby datacenter via SAN replication.) Will this work if i take into consideration the steps in the DR guide for attaching the database, stopping/starting services, etc.? And of course I'll have a network change because i am in a different datacenter.

Most of the documentation i read, focuses on a standby BESx server in the same datacenter. Also my situation is a bit different in that the standby BESx VM will not exist until the primary BESx is offline - and this BES VM is an exact copy of the primary BESx (with a network IP change).

Will my plan work? Any pitfalls i should be aware of?
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Disaster_Recovery_Guide.pdf (326.5 KB, 1 views)
Offline  
Old 11-29-2012, 03:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
BlackBerry Elite
 
knottyrope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Model: Z30
OS: 10.2.1
PIN: t of blood has been taken
Carrier: AT&T-US with I dee ten tee errors
Posts: 6,722
Post Thanks: 272
Thanked 289 Times in 273 Posts
Default Re: BES Express and DR in another datacenter

you should be able to spin it up and have it work

I hope your mail server is in same SAN

issue might be that you will be locked out if both are running at same time with same SRP
__________________
irony : many old timer posters have de-evolved into the trolls they once fought
I am on http://supportforums.blackberry.com
BES 10 running sweet for my Z30, Z10 and Q10
Offline  
Old 11-29-2012, 04:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Model: 7100T
PIN: N/A
Carrier: private
Posts: 3
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: BES Express and DR in another datacenter

Quote:
Originally Posted by knottyrope View Post
you should be able to spin it up and have it work

I hope your mail server is in same SAN

issue might be that you will be locked out if both are running at same time with same SRP
------------
regarding your statement about the mail server being in the same SAN - can you clarify your concern? The mail server is not a VM and mail databases may or may not be in the same SAN. Are you thinking that if the mail databases are in a separate SAN from the SQL/BES database that i may have something out-of-sync?
Offline  
Old 12-03-2012, 10:58 AM   #4 (permalink)
BlackBerry Elite
 
knottyrope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Model: Z30
OS: 10.2.1
PIN: t of blood has been taken
Carrier: AT&T-US with I dee ten tee errors
Posts: 6,722
Post Thanks: 272
Thanked 289 Times in 273 Posts
Default Re: BES Express and DR in another datacenter

Your post is about DR, is your mail server part of the DR plan?

If the mail servr is on a diff segment then there might be more work involved.

or you can run 2 BES with same database and just move users over if there is an issue to the other BES.
__________________
irony : many old timer posters have de-evolved into the trolls they once fought
I am on http://supportforums.blackberry.com
BES 10 running sweet for my Z30, Z10 and Q10
Offline  
Old 12-03-2012, 01:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Model: 7100T
PIN: N/A
Carrier: private
Posts: 3
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: BES Express and DR in another datacenter

Exchange is part of the DR plan. We are using a DAG with passive copies in the DR site so i'm confident an Exchange datacenter switchover process covers Exchange in a disaster scenario (and our Outlook internal clients and internet switchover are covered).

The BES VM and BES database are both replicated (LUN replication) to the DR site. I prefer not to run a hot/warm BES in the standby site. I only want BES to exist in the standby site after a disaster scenario is declared. Then i would bring up the BES VM and attach the BES database.

The network segments in the primary and standby site will be different somewhat. I realize that i will have to make sure the BES VM network is correct for the standby site. BES and Exchange will be able to communicate with each other in the standby site. and BES will be able to access the BES database in the standby site.
What would we have to do (if anything) to get the BES internet component to communicate to our on-site BES VM?

when you said: "If the mail servr is on a diff segment then there might be more work involved." - mail server on different segement - different from what?
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads for: BES Express and DR in another datacenter
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Moving BES to Amazon EC2 breasor BES Admin Corner 2 06-13-2012 10:32 AM
BEs 5.0.2 inplace upgrade of sql express to sql server 2005 elbutre BES Admin Corner 5 10-27-2010 04:59 AM
bes 5.0 ha sql mirror placement of witness server elbutre BES Admin Corner 0 10-05-2010 07:10 AM
BES Express DR Woodentop BES Admin Corner 0 09-13-2010 06:59 AM





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.