BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-07-2004, 12:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default porting Midlet for Vodafone BB 7230 in Germany

Please Login to Remove!

We started to port our mobile fleet management solution to the BB 7230. We use the prosumer produkt. Unfortunately our midlet ist not able to run http-connections. RIM told us, that using a prosumer product the service book IPPP is not required and that APN-Settings and further stuff is encoded in J2ME's connector.open(...) call. We tried:
"myURL;WAPGatewayIP=139.7.29.1;WapGatewayAPN=rim.n et.gprs";
as well as
"myURL;WAPGatewayAPN=wap.vodafone.de;TunnelAuthUse rname=d2;TunnelAuthPassword=wap

A test application throws an exception. The logging information looks like this:
VM:-DA
Unused radio message 1585
Unused radio message 1629
Starting httppost
Started httppost(60)
Foreground httppost(60)
URL:http://myURL;WAPGatewayIP=139.7.29.1...N=rim.net.gprs
CMM: httppost-1 no sig from 0x33
Exception!
java.io.IOException
Permission denied

We have no idea of what is going wrong. Email communication works finde, so the basic settings should be okay.

Any ideas welcome,

Harald
__________________
Harald Fischer
Offline  
Old 09-07-2004, 12:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Model: 8700r
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 221
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Are you using BES or carrier WAP gateway?
Offline  
Old 09-07-2004, 12:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

We are using the carrier's WAP gateway
__________________
Harald Fischer
Offline  
Old 09-07-2004, 12:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Model: 8700r
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 221
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Couple of things to look out for.

1. If you tried connecting with an empty string ( i.e. no WAPGatewayIP etc.) and then tried using WAPGatewapIP, it won't work because the OS locks the first type of connection used for a 3rd party APP ( i.e. BES or WAP ). You need to do a fresh install of the app.

2. Make sure the connection string is correct and the carrier has a WAP gateway.

---> The second looks reasonable except you are missing the WAPGatewayIP.

myURL;WAPGatewayIP="x.x.x.x";WAPGatewayAPN=wap.vod afone.de;TunnelAuthUsername=d2;TunnelAuthPassword= wap

I think you need to contact Vodafone to get the correct settings.
Offline  
Old 09-07-2004, 12:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Model: 8700r
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 221
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Did it work in the RIM simulator?
Offline  
Old 09-08-2004, 10:17 AM   #6 (permalink)
Retired BBF Moderator
 
Mark Rejhon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Model: Bold
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 4,870
Post Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yep -- try testing in the RIM's own emulator (simulator). That should help determine whether this is caused by a lack of BES/MDS.

If you end up requiring BES/MDS, then you could obtain it for a monthly fee (i.e. MailStreet.com or MyBlackberry.us) or wait for carrier deployment of 4.0.

However, you can definitely do a number of (limited) things through the carrier's WAP gateway -- if that's all you need to do!
__________________
Thanks,
Mark Rejhon
Author of XMPP extension XEP-0301:
www.xmpp.org/extensions/xep-0301.html - specification
www.realjabber.org - open source
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.