BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-09-2006, 12:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Boca Raton
Model: many
Carrier: none
Posts: 6
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unhappy Problem compiling on Eclipse

Please Login to Remove!

I am trying to use Eclipse to edit and compile, never mind the jad and cod files.
I will wait for an BB plugin for eclipse for that.

I am getting the following error message and since I do not refer to Border directly, I assume
it has something to do with the net.rim_api.jar file.

Am I missing something? I see nothing else in the RIm directories to add to the build path.

Severity and Description Path Resource Location Creation Time Id
The project was not built since its build path is incomplete. Cannot find the class file for net.rim.device.internal.ui.Border. Fix the build path then try building this project Mp Examples Unknown 1155063929890 12088

Severity and Description Path Resource Location Creation Time Id
The type net.rim.device.internal.ui.Border cannot be resolved. It is indirectly referenced from required .class files Mp Examples/stiscan TestTS.java line 0 1155063929890 12087
Offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 06:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Model: 8700c
Posts: 4
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Check out the Application Developer Guide Volume 1, pages 27-29, which has all information about integration with Eclipse. --Tom
Offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 07:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Boca Raton
Model: many
Carrier: none
Posts: 6
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

All I see on those pages are on "Write efficient code".
Now there is some stuff on Eclipse starting on page 196.
All of which I have done up to but not including the builder.
Until there is an Eclipse plugin for a Blackberry, maintaining a huge argument
list for each every changing project is out of the question.
All I want to do is edit and compile.
The actual cod production will be done on the BB Development Environment
after all the syntax and compiler time errors are fixed.
Offline  
Old 08-11-2006, 03:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Boca Raton
Model: many
Carrier: none
Posts: 6
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have located the cause but have no solution.

If I write:
... = new ButtonField( "Clear" );
everything is OK.
If I write:
... = new ButtonField( "Clear" )
{
// some method
}
I get the error.

Last edited by skater27 : 08-11-2006 at 03:11 PM.
Offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 12:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Model: 8707v
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 19
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default assignment <-> branch

Hey skater27,

not sure whether I am missing something but from your code snippet it looks like you are making an assignment "= new ButtonField( "Clear" )" and then would like to branch into a different section of the code. By the looks however there doesn't seem to be a condition based on which to branch.

Otherwise if you are not branching, I (and by the looks of it the compiler) fail to see why you need the "{}" brackets in your code?

Mike.
Offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 01:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Boca Raton
Model: many
Carrier: none
Posts: 6
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I am inline subclassing ButtonField with action code when the button is clicked.
Offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 01:30 AM   #7 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Model: -
Posts: 13
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Use Eclipse IDE

An article how to customize Eclipse for developing BlackBerry applications: How to make "helloworld" work in Eclipse for Dummies.
Offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 06:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Model: 8700c
Posts: 4
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Check out the thread "integrating eclipseME and BlackBerry SDK". --tom
Offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 08:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Model: 9000
Carrier: ATT
Posts: 247
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I too am having trouble with eclipse. I get it to create the COD, JAR, etc files but no luck having my application actually load on the simulator. Do I definetly need to use ant to accomplish this? So far I'm doing this just as stated in the BB Application Guide (no ant script yet).
Offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 04:11 AM   #10 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Model: 8700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T1
Posts: 9
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

setting the JDK compiler compliance level to 1.3 has fixed the issue.

thanks.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

USB Watchdog Computer Automatic Restart Blue Screen Mining Game Server BTC Miner
$7.99
USB Watchdog Computer Automatic Restart Blue Screen Mining Game Server BTC Miner pictureLAN Ethernet Relay Board Delay Switch TCP/UDP Controller Module WEB Server TW
$25.71
LAN Ethernet Relay Board Delay Switch TCP/UDP Controller Module WEB Server TW pictureESI 100 Communication Server 8pt/140 HR CF With Power Supply A4 PC E2 612 PC
$899.0
ESI 100 Communication Server 8pt/140 HR CF With Power Supply A4 PC E2 612 PC pictureLAN Ethernet 2-Way Relay Board Delay Switch TCP/UDP Controller Module Server YT
$24.24
LAN Ethernet 2-Way Relay Board Delay Switch TCP/UDP Controller Module Server YT pictureLAN Ethernet 2-Way Relay Board Delay Switch TCP/UDP Controller Module Server TW
$24.24
LAN Ethernet 2-Way Relay Board Delay Switch TCP/UDP Controller Module Server TW picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.