BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-08-2005, 08:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 20
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Programatically Change Profile

Please Login to Remove!

I have seen this question asked on this forum a number of times, but it usually goes un-answered.

"Does anyone know how to change the profile through an application"

For instance set it to silent mode at a certain time, and loud at another.
Offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 12:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Eastpointe, MI
Model: 8300
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 214
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I've looked all over and haven't found anything. Even the posts at RIM's forum about this go unanswered. I have to assume that at this point there is no way to do it. I've looked through every API that could be even remotely related to the Profiles and found nothing.

If you find anything please report back.
__________________
Current: AT&T 8300 w/Plantronics Discovery 640

Previous: Nextel BB7520 w/ Plantronics Discovery 640
Offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 01:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 20
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I sent an email to rim and received the following reply:

Quote:
Q: Is there a way to change the current profile programmatically. For instance, I want my user to chose various options which will indiciate when a certain profile is desired. For instance, Monday through Friday from 8 to 4 the profile should be LOUD (vibrate, ring, etc). Outside of these constraints I want it to be silent. There are other triggers, different from the date that I want to include as well.

A: It is not currently possible to perform this action programmatically. However it has been feature requested, but no timeline is given for the release of this feature.
Offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 02:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Eastpointe, MI
Model: 8300
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 214
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for checking into it. Hopefully this won't fall of the shelf over there.
__________________
Current: AT&T 8300 w/Plantronics Discovery 640

Previous: Nextel BB7520 w/ Plantronics Discovery 640
Offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 10:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 7
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

has there been any update on this recently?
Offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 07:47 AM   #6 (permalink)
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: hamburg, germany
Model: 8900
Carrier: o2
Posts: 838
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

afaik it is even worse, you can't even read the profile. we tried to make an app reading the profile to "know" if it should be ringing or just vibrating but didn't handle it.
__________________
java developer, Devinto, hamburg/germany
Offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 06:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Model: 7130c
Posts: 6
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Any updates?

Just curious if anyone was able to figuring this out yet. I just got a 7130c and want to create a simple program for it that changes the profile depending on what Cell Tower you are connect to, but can't seem to fine any information on how to change the profile thru code.

Is there maybe even an open source API that someone has created that will allow this to be change thru code, if we can't change it directly with the classes built into the Blackberry JDK.
Offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 04:37 AM   #8 (permalink)
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: hamburg, germany
Model: 8900
Carrier: o2
Posts: 838
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i am looking for it from time to time but never found anything about it or anybody claiming to have solved the issue.
all our applications that use alarms have a built-in menu to change manually which makes using them uncomfortable, to say the least.
the preview to 4.2 mentioned nothing about it but i really hope RIM implements some ways to deal with it
__________________
java developer, Devinto, hamburg/germany
Offline  
Old 08-28-2007, 08:43 AM   #9 (permalink)
CrackBerry Addict
 
wibbly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Model: 9700
Carrier: T-Mobile UK
Posts: 857
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

In the meantime could it be done using a workaround? Maybe assigning the profile change to one of the application keys and then doing keystroke injection? (Ok. I know it's horrid )
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Original OEM Marquip Roll Assy,Appl Gu 98 Rh Dr 35P 9824273
$31263.18
Original OEM Marquip Roll Assy,Appl Gu 98 Rh Dr 35P  9824273 pictureOriginal OEM APPLE Airport Extreme Base Station Power Supply AC Adapter A1202
$6.99
Original OEM APPLE Airport Extreme Base Station Power Supply AC Adapter A1202 picture(C21) Genuine OEM Apple AC Cord
$25.0
(C21) Genuine OEM Apple AC Cord pictureField Controls Mg1 8" Barometric For Gas Appl OEM 1986501
$172.99
Field Controls Mg1 8Original OEM APPLE Airport Extreme Base Station Power Supply AC Adapter A1202
$14.6
Original OEM APPLE Airport Extreme Base Station Power Supply AC Adapter A1202 picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.