BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-17-2005, 11:28 AM   #1 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Model: 8730
Carrier: TELUS
Posts: 18
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Internet Browser 4.0 form bug

Please Login to Remove!

Pressing ESC to return to an xhtml form that has inputs with preset values will display the form with blank values instead of the preset values. This occurs even if the form being returned to was cached or not cached.

In fact, if you edit the source form to add a new input field with value="xyz" (after going to another page) the xyz will not display when escape is used to return to the new form.

In effect, pressing escape clears all value settings on a form.

To reproduce the problem:

- Use Internet Browser 4.0 (xhtml). OS 4.0.0.171 (platform 1.5.0.30) 6750

- Go to http://www.ucora.com/bb/formdefect.xhtml

- Note that the form's values are preset.

- Clicking on the hyperlink "Click here..." takes you to a new page.

- Press ESC from the new page returns you to the original form but the default values are no longer displayed.

- Pressing reset re-displays the form's preset values

This is a serious error in that if the user then submits the form, the submitted values are blank instead of the preset values. This is a particular problem when designing database driven xhtml applications.

I can't see any logical reason why going into a form in the forward direction displays the default values but going into the form via pressing escape clears the default values. This appears to be a browsers defect.

I've notified RIM and I am awaiting a reply. If anyone has a work around please let me know. Also, if other devices do not reproduce this problem let me know.

Thank you
Offline  
Old 04-17-2005, 02:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Model: 8730
Carrier: TELUS
Posts: 18
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I tried this out on the 7750 simulator and I see the same problem, i.e. upon returning to the data entry form via the ESC key, the input fields are incorrectly cleared.

Anyone else have this problem? http://www.ucora.com/bb/formdefect.xhtml
Offline  
Old 07-06-2005, 10:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Model: 7290
Posts: 2
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Did you get any reply

Please post
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Comfort Products 60-5800T Commodore II Oversize Leather Chair with Adjustable
$181.29
Comfort Products 60-5800T Commodore II Oversize Leather Chair with Adjustable pictureVM110 VIC-20 Programmers Reference Guide, Commodore Business Machines
$15.99
VM110 VIC-20 Programmers Reference Guide, Commodore Business Machines pictureDDC IEEE-448 DATA BUS ADAPTER ILC DEVICE DBA-488 HPIB GPIB COMMODORE HP USED
$676.88
DDC IEEE-448 DATA BUS ADAPTER ILC DEVICE DBA-488 HPIB GPIB COMMODORE HP USED pictureComfort Products Commodore II Big and Tall Leather Executive Chair Office
$209.71
Comfort Products Commodore II Big and Tall Leather Executive Chair Office picture23 WAY "D" SHELL HOOD DB23 D23 DB23F DB23M FOR COMMODORE AMIGA CONNECTORS - RARE
$2.57
23 WAY






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.