BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-21-2007, 11:04 AM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Model: 8700G
Posts: 9
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default How to use BIS Connection for my application

Please Login to Remove!

I have an 8700g bb. with BIS (no BES)

I need to use the BIS Connection in order to get access to http connections to get and send data to oue web server.

How can I Use the BIS Connection just like Indokorro Desktop Application( www dot idokorro dot com ) does? On this application (indokorro) you can select connection over TCP/IP Carrier or BES or BIS.

Hope I explain my questions, any help will be appreciated, thanks in advance.

Rudolf

Last edited by rudolf : 02-21-2007 at 12:05 PM.
Offline  
Old 02-21-2007, 01:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ottawa
Model: 9000
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 145
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

You can find information on how to connect using the different connection methods here:

Livelink - Redirection
Offline  
Old 02-21-2007, 01:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Model: 8700G
Posts: 9
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks paul

Could you helpme to verify that this assumption is correct?

1) Access the Service Book IPPP in order to get the Gateway information (IP, APN, Ports) and store it on a static variable "Program.ConnPostfijo"

ConnPostfijo = ";WapGatewayIP=206.51.26.192;WapGatewayAPN=blackbe rry.net;WAPGatewayPort=19741;WAPSourcePort=19740";

2) Make the connection

String url = Program.HTTP_VENTAS_URL() + Program.ConnPostfijo;

StreamConnection s = null;
s = (StreamConnection)Connector.open(url);


Is this correct ?

thanks in advance
Offline  
Old 02-21-2007, 02:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ottawa
Model: 9000
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 145
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I am not sure, we have not used WAP connections, I would recommend that you use option #3, direct TCP connections using the "deviceside=true" parameter.
Offline  
Old 02-21-2007, 04:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Model: 8700G
Posts: 9
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Paul

Hoping not to abuse your amiability, what metod do you use when I choose "BIS-Internet Browsing" for "Connect using" on the Options of Idokorro Mobile Desktop?

thanks in advance
Offline  
Old 02-22-2007, 08:10 AM   #6 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ottawa
Model: 9000
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 145
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rudolf
Paul

Hoping not to abuse your amiability, what metod do you use when I choose "BIS-Internet Browsing" for "Connect using" on the Options of Idokorro Mobile Desktop?

thanks in advance
Unfortunately I beleive that currently this information is only available to BlackBerry Partners. If your company is a member of the BlackBery Partner program simply contact them and you will get the information you need.
Offline  
Old 02-22-2007, 09:54 AM   #7 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Model: 8700G
Posts: 9
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thank you very much Paul
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.