BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-22-2007, 01:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Model: 9000
Carrier: SFR
Posts: 48
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Icon on the banner

Please Login to Remove!

Hi,

I'm looking for the way to use/add icon on the banner of the device.
Basically I wants to be able to make appears/disappers icons, such as the little enveloppe when receiving an email on the top of the screen.
Some people would says that third party application doesn't allows to do that, while google talk do it.

I'm thinking about events notification but I don't find clear info on the api.
Thank you,

Eric.
Offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 02:09 AM   #2 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: China
Model: 8300
OS: v4.5.0.10
Carrier: project engineer
Posts: 14
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

if you just want to add a static picture on the desktop,I can tell you.you must add a .png into you programe,than right-click the PNG.and selected Properties.at last select "Use as application icon",it's just ok.
Offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 09:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Model: 9000
Carrier: SFR
Posts: 48
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thank you for this trick.
But I m actually looking for a way to display a small icon on the tob bar (close to the clock ...), from my program ...
If anybody have a single idea ...
Offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 10:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
kevin.ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Franklin, Tennessee
Model: 8300
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 42
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Unfortunately, I don't believe that capability is exposed for the home ribbon.

Sorry we couldn't help,
__________________
Kevin Ross | Metova | www.metova.com
Offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 10:08 AM   #5 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Model: 9000
Carrier: SFR
Posts: 48
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thank you for your concern.
My point is that yahoo and google talk apps are able to do that with personalized icons ...
So it is possible ... but how ... .. .
Offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 10:11 AM   #6 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Model: 9000
Carrier: SFR
Posts: 48
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hum actually I m thinking about notification or receipt folder systems. API are a little bit obscurs ...
Offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 10:27 AM   #7 (permalink)
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Manchester, UK
Model: BOLD
Carrier: t-mobile
Posts: 714
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yahoo and googletalk are both special cases, us 'normal' developers dont get to do that, the question has come up before on blackberry.com/developers and they confirmed it's not possible.
__________________
new job doesn't allow a public profile - please do not contact this user with questions, you will not get a response. good luck!
Offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 12:42 PM   #8 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Model: 9000
Carrier: SFR
Posts: 48
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yep,

I know I'm fastidious but what is says is that third parties app can't access this area. From my point of view yahoo and google are ...
And I like to be able to do what I want to do ;), and find solution to problems.
Offline  
Old 03-02-2007, 12:04 PM   #9 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Model: 8707g
Carrier: Hutch
Posts: 73
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yahoo and Google are not third party apps. Those apps have been developed by them in partnership with RIM. I heard RIM even paid them for this.

Google Talk is available from BlackBerry website and I think even its modules ware named like net_rim_bb_googletalk or something like that.
Offline  
Old 03-02-2007, 02:54 PM   #10 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Model: 9000
Carrier: SFR
Posts: 48
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thank you for these confirmations ...
I think I will put that on hold for a while except if rim contact me
and fund me ;) or just open the api ...
Thank you again ...
Offline  
Old 03-02-2007, 05:32 PM   #11 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Perfect Storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Ottawa
Model: 8900
OS: 4.6.1.114
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 2,467
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Google talk and Yahoo are essentially just BB messenger for a different service. They were made by RIM. RIM can put anything they want, anywhere they want.

There is no 3rd party way of doing this
Offline  
Old 03-02-2007, 09:02 PM   #12 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Model: 9000
Carrier: SFR
Posts: 48
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Good to know. Thank you for these precisions about BB messenger.
I'll try on RIM side later ... or wait that they provide this service.
Thank you for these elements.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.